"Guide To Extinction"

(Triple X)

01. Shallow
02. I Lie
03. Alibi
04. Passion
05. Walk Away
06. Indulge
07. Class War
08. Nothing
09. Dirty Sanchez
10. No Way Out
11. Dead Man
12. Cocaine Sex
13. They'll Never Find Your Body

RATING: 4/10

NOCTURNE are the latest in a long line of female-fronted, electronic-tinged rock bands (the most well-known being GARBAGE). Like many of these groups, the "industrial" elements found within seem more like superficial machine trappings hung on a basic hard rock framework — enough stuff to warrant playing to a DAT live, maybe, but nothing particularly groundbreaking or innovative.

Lacey Conner has this girly, sing-songy voice (reminiscent of SCHEER frontwoman Audrey Gallagher) that she occasionally twists into a rather unconvincing snarl. She's pretty much the focal point, as the music behind is disposable 1995-era alt-rock guitar dressed up in the aforementioned effects. The effect, on songs like "I Lie", is that of a mid-1990's movie soundtrack — decent background music similar to the slew of bands from that era clogging up the discount bins at your local record store (see: PSYCHOTICA, GRAVITY KILLS, GOD LIVES UNDERWATER, JACK OFF JILL, ad nauseam).

Conner lacks the charisma to put these songs over, or even much of a vocal personality, rendering the whole project faceless (since she's what the songs are built around). Crooning "please take me now" over and over again in the lackluster "Indulge" is a sure way to win over this scene's contingent of sweaty fanboys who herald every scarified female behind a microphone as worthy of unconditional worship. But most listeners will find "Guide To Extinction" dated and stale. The more melodic, campy tracks (see "Nothing") work much better than the attempts at abrasiveness (the utterly pointless "Dirty Sanchez" and third-rate snarler "Dead Man"), but the whole thing is basically worth a pass.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).