"Greatest Hits: Back To the Start"


01. Holy Wars… The Punishment Due
02. In My Darkest Hour
03. Peace Sells
04. Sweating Bullets
05. Angry Again
06. A Tout Le Monde
07. Trust
08. Kill the King
09. Symphony of Destruction
10. Mechanix
11. Train of Consequences
12. Wake Up Dead
13. Hangar 18
14. Dread and the Fugitive Mind
15. Skin o' My Teeth
16. She-Wolf
17. Prince of Darkness

RATING: 5/10

Does anyone at all believe bands when they claim they take fans' Internet votes on stuff into consideration? When I see a "fan favorite" IRON MAIDEN best-of track listing, and anything from the Blaze Bayley era shows up, that poll's credibility shrivels up like a black metaller in the sunshine. Similarly, you'd need Botox injections to keep a straight face while telling me that more people voted for "Trust" and "Angry Again" than for "Hook In Mouth", "Foreclosure of a Dream" or "Tornado of Souls".

Now firmly ensconced in the Sanctuary Records school of beating one's back catalog to death, MEGADETH replace the deleted "Capitol Punishment" best-of from 2000 with another trip to the well, this time featuring the remixed, retooled versions of songs Dave Mustaine and his bevy of studio wizards tweaked for last year's reissue campaign. Thankfully, we're not subjected to "Crush 'Em" or "Use the Man" this time around, but this expanded best-of still seems a bit irrelevant and crass.

Don't get me wrong, it's not like you can really go wrong with a MEGADETH best-of. These songs are classics for a reason. Hell, they're probably my least favorite of the "Big Four" thrash bands of the 1980s, and I still own their entire catalog. This wouldn't be a bad starting point for a completely new and green MEGA-fan… provided such a person existed. It's just that it could be so much better.

Seriously, whose publishing money is Mustaine messing with by leaving off "Foreclosure"? It's only one of the band's biggest hits. There's no reason (well, aside from making diehards buy more shit) not to have just revamped "Capitol Punishment" and added it to the reissue campaign. At the end of the day, this one is "product" in the most literal sense of the word. Buy it if you gotta have everything, but the forthcoming "Arsenal of Megadeth" DVD looks to be about a thousand times more interesting and worthy of your cash.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).