"God the Lux"


01. Rest in Pain
02. Posthuman Kind
03. Lumen Clamosum
04. God the Lux
05. Synchroscheme
06. Phosphorror
07. Lumen Funescum
08. The Mystory
09. Fireclipse
10. Lumen Coruscum
11. Legions are Me
12. Inlustra Nigror

RATING: 7/10

Featuring members Daray (drums, percussion) and Orion (guitar, vocals) of VADER and BEHEMOTH, respectively, Poland's VESANIA is no side project. The duo formed the symphonic black/death metal band in 1997, years before either man joined the ranks of the Polish elite. On "God the Lux", the follow-up to 2003's "Firefrost Arcanum" (Empire Records), Orion and Daray join "keymaster" Siegmar and bassist Heinrich in creating a dark, dense and crushingly heavy album. Combining Polish death battery with lush keyboard orchestration (similar to DIMMU BORGIR) and a general aura that recalls later period EMPEROR, what the album may lack in individual track distinction, the band makes up for in an all-encompassing approach.

A fat bottom-heavy sound is created by Daray's wall of percussion, a style with some similarities to what is heard on "The Beast" by his "other" band. Those punishing beats and chunky riffing provide a sturdy foundation for the majestic keyboard melodies. Orion's vocals are delivered in a low-register quasi-Swedish style, largely indecipherable mainly because of a middle-to-back of the mix application. This is not necessarily a bad thing, as the venomous words are simply subsumed into the song structures, rather than acting as a point of emphasis. Working more as a strand in the musical fabric, the upside is the hurricane-force strength of the event.

The rayless, yet rich, mood created results in an album that one should consume whole, not piece by piece. Songs are woven together by brief keyboard pieces, the end product a holistic experience. Keep listening, as the album slow but surely envelops you. "God the Lux" is not a disc that raises the bar for symphonic black/death metal, but it's not generic imitation either. Influences notwithstanding, VESANIA has created an album that fuses that distinctive Polish death metal power with symphonic black metal elegance.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).