"Full Blown Chaos"


01. Doomageddon
02. Villains
03. Rise & Conquer
04. The Walking Dead
05. Silence is Golden
06. Die Like You Live
07. Gravedigger
08. Gutter Mouth
09. War Machine
10. Battle Hymns and Broken Bones
11. C.O.B.R.A.
12. Cain Marko
13. The Path I Walk

RATING: 7/10

FULL BLOWN CHAOS' new self-titled album is about as lyrically honest and musically in-your-face as metallic hardcore gets. Much like drill sergeant and lead barker Ray Mazzola, it is big, beefy, and free of pretension. Not exactly a progression for a subgenre that emphasizes sticking to the fundamentals and doing it with complete honesty over experimentation and stylistic rerouting, the album nonetheless deserves recognition for being well written and hard as nails. It is what most would expect from an act that has been part of the HC elite for some time now.

That the elite includes HATEBREED and TERROR will tell you a lot about the sound of the new long player since the style falls somewhere between the decibel beatings delivered by each act, although the approach comes closer to the former. Adding a guitarist will beef up the live sound for certain, but the songs here do showcase more than a few two-guitar parts, not the least of which include some brief, well place leads. The approach taken is straight ahead, yet track distinction is treated as a virtue. In other words, the band doesn't try to outsmart itself by straying too far from the basics, yet paid enough attention to detail in the writing process to make each cut count. That includes a couple of songs in "The Path I Walk" and especially "Gravedigger" where the melodic parts are pronounced to a surprising degree, though only when taken in the context of an otherwise bloody knuckled approach. Some air underneath the wings of one of the guitars on "Gutter Mouth" is also attention-grabbing and works well amidst the assault and battery.

So what we're really talking about is a hardy collection of metallic HC tunes that get the point across individually (think: lone gunman) and in a collective sense (think: gang war), thanks to some sharp arranging. But more than anything else, the new one from FULL BLOWN CHAOS is a tough bastard that won't disappoint fans of the hard stuff. Don't expect an album of metallic hardcore mastery. Do expect an exponential increase in road rage incidences and parole violations when the CD is played at maximum volume in certain environs.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).