"From Your Grave"

(Metal Blade)

01. Intro
02. A Breath Beneath
03. Necropolis
04. From Your Grave
05. Heaven Ablaze
06. Summoning the Darkness
07. Shattered
08. I, Deceiver
09. My Ruin
10. Seven Demons

RATING: 8/10

Sometimes I think folks have exaggerated Metal Blade's supposed transition to a more "modern" metal label (read: metalcore), simply because of bands like AS I LAY DYING, UNEARTH (really a Swede-influenced melodic death/thrash band), and THE RED CHORD (a band for which the genre tag is far too limiting). I know, I started it, so let the debate begin. My point is that quality melodic death metal acts like AMON AMARTH, GOD DETHRONED and now Tampa's very own THE ABSENCE also grace the label's roster. After a self-titled EP released in 2004, THE ABSENCE made the leap to Metal Blade, hooked up with rising production/engineering star Erik Rutan, and crafted a classic Swedish-style melodic death metal album in "From Your Grave" that's as good or better than some of the northern country's native bands. In a sign of the times, the one-time hotbed of classic American death metal has now spawned an album that pays tribute to the fertile Scandinavian scene.

The songwriting, including the notable title track and "Necropolis", is strong across the board. Perhaps not at a level to rival the classics, but at the very least on par with some of the better European bands of the genre. Jamie Stewart's vocal style will sound familiar to many fans, his delivery a mid-range, intelligible growl that is similar to Tomas Lindberg's, just not quite as jarring. That said, "Seven Demons" threw me for a loop when a clean, almost power metal, singing part appeared. As it turned out, the surprise was a rather pleasant one. Guttural back-up growls also show up along the way for accent purposes. What makes "From Your Grave" such a grand effort though are the melodic lead guitars of Peter Joseph and Patrick Pintavalle. The soaring twin harmonies mesmerize, and the solos are sublime. The lyrics contain notation indicating whether it is Joseph or Pintavalle playing the various lead and melody parts, something I don't often see these days.

Finally, Rutan proves that his work is customizable, depending on the band. There's a high degree of clarity in the warm mix that is ideal for the dueling guitars and rich bass lines. I do believe it is time to begin recognizing Rutan as one of metal's top producers. [NOTE: Tom Morris recorded, mixed, and engineered the album's last three tracks at Morrisound Studios].

"From Your Grave" is an album that any fan of Swedish melodic death metal should enjoy. The phenomenal guitar work alone is worth the price of admission.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).