"Forward into Regression"


01. March Forward (Into Regression)
02. Strain
03. Plague Domain
04. Stagnation Routine
05. Devoid of Allegiance
06. Drown In Black Matter
07. Body Weapon
08. Swine Swallower
09. Conform to Deform
10. Etched in Granite
11. Salient
12. Solace Through Self
13. Hand of the Overseer
14. Failure King
15. Gaiares
16. Blood of the Luddite

RATING: 7.5/10

MARUTA is back and this time they've brought a bassist (Mauro Cordoba) to add a bulging bottom to go with their razor storm of powerfully violent riffs and tornado grind blasts on sophomore effort "Forward into Regression". Wrapping a measure of distinctiveness around a sound that blends musical reference points from NAPALM DEATH to NASUM to KILL THE CLIENT, MARUTA is nothing if not serious in its homicidal tendencies.

Sixteen tracks, including a couple of (ahem) epic-length three-minute songs, "Forward into Regression" is the logical progression from "In Narcosis", this time with deeper arrangements and the occasional death metal nod. In addition to a slew of abrasive, often dissonant blasters that range from 40-second kill shots to two-minute hate explosions that offer an impressive degree of riff dexterity from Eduardo Borja, MARUTA actually slows it down on "Failure King", "Blood of the Luddite", and the mid-tempo "Salient". All offer a welcome change of pace and blanket the listener in sickly swamp crunch, most notably on closer "Blood of the Luddite". In all cases MARUTA gets a lot out of a basic format and keeps "Forward into Regression" well away from anything resembling a one-dimensional grind fest.

Vitriolic in delivery and misanthropic in message, "Forward into Regression" is grind enough for the grindcore fans and deathly enough for the death metal fans, bridging the gap between the two styles with precision and skill. But MARUTA will always be first and foremost a grindcore unit. They just happen to prefer a little variety in their murderous methods.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).