"Fear Beyond Lunacy"

(The End)

01. Where Time Cannot Exist
02. Living in Extinction
03. Lethal Justince
04. In Fear We Trust
05. Killing Indulgence
06. Dead and Gone
07. Tearing Into Hell
08. Prophet of Delusion
09. The World Beyond
10. Frozen Hell

RATING: 8.5/10

Bay Area thrash revivalists HATCHET have already faced the growing pains of any band, much less the forefathers from whom they take inspiration. HATCHET has been slinging it out since 2008. The band was met with the metal underground's favor with their last full-length, "Dawn of the End". In the intervening two years, vocalist/guitarist Julz Ramos lost his crew, returning fortified by second guitarist Clayton Cagle, bassist Joey Karpowicz and drummer Ben Smith. HATCHET thus resumes its course with "Fear Beyond Lunacy", a well-performed replication of classic San Fran thrash, reminiscent of TESTAMENT, DEATH ANGEL, HEATHEN and EXODUS along with L.A.'s AGENT STEEL.

"Fear Beyond Lunacy" cooks more than it rests, elegantly starting out with the tasteful, flamenco-kissed instrumental "Where Time Cannot Exist", which is swept asunder by the breakneck carnage of "Living in Extinction". Julz Ramos notes that "Living in Extinction" was inspired by the horror film "The Chernobyl Diaries". The nuclear meltdown disaster at Pripyat has propagated a slew of multimedia ventures spanning movies and television to video games. Musicians ranging from David Bowie to KRAFTWERK to MUNICIPAL WASTE have touched on the topic before, as have other would-be thrash acts bearing the word "Chernobyl" in their monikers. HATCHET's "Living in Extinction" continues this morbid fascination with the abandoned city, and their audile meltdown here comes in the form of a spectacular shred-solo by Julz Ramos and Clayton Cagle.

The pair shine all over "Fear Beyond Lunacy" such as on fast-moving numbers such as "Lethal Justince", "Dead and Gone", "Tearing Into Hell", "Prophet of Delusion" and "Frozen World". Mid-tempo pumpers such as "The World Beyond" and "Killing Indulgence" still carry a ton of moshing thrust. The guitar solos on this thing are sick at every turn, and the songs are sharply crafted, if not reminiscent of the old days, only with richer production. There's not much further description needed of "Fear Beyond Lunacy", and no doubt HATCHET would consider that a compliment.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).