"Fallout from the War"

(Century Media)

01. In Effigy
02. Will To Rebuild
03. Haunting Me Endlessly
04. Seize the Calm
05. Carpal Tunnel
06. Going, Going, Gone
07. Deadworld
08. This Is My Own
09. December
10. Mark of the Squealer
11. Teas'n Pleas'n

RATING: 7.5/10

Exactly the sort of odds 'n' sods record you'd expect as a parting gift to the label from a band on their way to supposedly greener pastures, "Fallout from the War" is being billed as a "companion piece" to 2004 breakthrough "The War Within". Comprised of reworked old stuff, new songs, and a few choice covers, the album keeps the band's name in the spotlight as they make the move to major-label land, and Century Media says goodbye to their biggest success story.

Fans of "The War Within" won't find any major surprises here — perhaps most intriguing is "Carpal Tunnel", a song that's both more wide-open, less riffy (perhaps because of the malady mentioned in the title?), and yet more intense than you'd expect (with a nice bass solo to boot). "Deadworld" is a pretty awesome song as well, a dense, multilayered, but catchy raveup. In fact, just about all of these tunes hold up as well as, if not better than, the material on "The War Within"!

Critics of this band frequently miss the point that SHADOWS FALL are getting more melodic and accessible, yes, but that they're doing it in an organic fashion — there's still a lot of thrash oozing out of the pores of these metalheads, and their organic, old-school-informed take on metalcore has so far managed to avoid most of that cloying buzzword's limitations. What will happen to them as small fish in a larger pond remains to be seen, but it should be obvious that the band has no intention of embarrassing themselves with weak material or an obvious dilution of what got them to where they are today.

The covers are interesting choices, obviously informed more by the band's personal heroes than out of any desire to appear cool. While I'm stoked to see anyone giving the criminally underrated ONLY LIVING WITNESS props, the heinously ProTooled vocals are a deterrent on this one — perhaps it would have been better to get original OLW vocalist Jonah Jenkins in for a guest spot instead? LEEWAY classic "Mark of the Squealer" fares much better, the spit and fire of old New York hardcore coming through intact. DANGEROUS TOYS chestnut "Teas'n, Pleas'n" is a hilarious way to end the album (and is that actually Jason McMaster I hear?), a little boogie-metal abandon to piss off the scene kids and close out SHADOWS FALL's underground tenure decidedly on their own terms.

It definitely falls into the "contractual obligation" category, and as long as we're trotting out clichés, let's use "for the diehards only" too. But "Fallout from the War" will not disappoint any fan of SHADOWS FALL — all their trademarks are in place, and their metal shows no sign of losing its luster. This is one case where any success that comes the band's way is a result of two things — talent and hard fucking work. I hope they sell a million.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).