"Evolution Through Revolution"


01. Sugardaddy
02. Turmoil
03. Daydreamer
04. On The Hunt
05. Fist In Mouth
06. Get A Therapist Spare The World
07. War Is Good
08. Evolution Through Revolution
09. Powder Burn
10. Attack Dog
11. Branded
12. Detached
13. Global Good Guy
14. Humpty Finance
15. Semi-Automatic Carnation
16. Itch
17. Afterworld
18. Lifer
19. Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songs
20. Grind Fidelity

RATING: 8.5/10

Hard to believe it's been twelve years since BRUTAL TRUTH released the breakthrough "Sounds Of The Animal Kingdom". In retrospect though, it seems that absence can make the heart grind harder as "Evolution Through Revolution" is as chaotically creative as anything extreme metal has to offer. Never ones to start a new in the same place they left the last one; this newest offering of unhinged insanity suggests that the band continued to evolve as a whole, even if its members were separate. Then again, maybe they never broke up. Maybe they were just taking a rrrreeeaaalllyyy long bong break. Anyway, no matter what the deal was over the last decade, BRUTAL TRUTH is back and the world just became a much cooler place to live.

Drafted by bassist Dan Lilker from the NUCLEAR ASSAULT, new guitarist Erik Burke brings a whole new brand of dementia to the band with his grating, yet discernable tone and ear-bleeding servings of feedback. It's a wonder the dude doesn't burn the wood right off of his guitar's neck as shreds through "Powder Burn", "Sugar Daddy" and the title track like an eight-fingered freak. His penchant for perfectly twisted anti-melody gives the as-far-left-from-center chording on the ADHD anthem "Attack Dog" an almost aesthetically pleasing aura. Seemingly impossible tempo shifts on songs like "Humpty Finance" and "Afterworld" are good for a Linda Blair-style headspinning, while "Daydreamer", and to some extent "Itch", deliver a solidly death metal beatdown. Then again, BRUTAL TRUTH has never been afraid to venture well outside their grindcore neighborhood, and "Evolution Through Revolution" is no exception. Given Rich Hoak's explorations in ambience and drive to redefine on the newest TOTAL FUCKING DESTRUCTION, it's no surprise that the band violently smashes through the walls that lead to doom, sludge, noisy experimentation and many other musical oddities. Even classic, eclectic punk is chewed up and spit out as something entirely different on the cover of the MINUTEMEN quickie "Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songs".

That leaves us with the blunt cynicism of screamer Kevin Sharp. I mean, what better time in our society than now for he and Hoak to put their humanity-hating minds together for another batch of pestilent prose. As expected, nary a politician, CEO, authority figure or any other random douche bag is safe from Sharp's venom. What more could I say about it that the line, 'rub your cocks with sweat from backs of the working stiffs collar' doesn't say already?

On that note, there really isn't much that can be said about this symphony of destruction (in part because those words haven't been invented yet), other than that a new standard from grind has been set. The best way to describe "Evolution Through Revolution" would be to imagine a variable speed chainsaw where have the blades have been replaced with sledgehammers and then taking it on a frenzied rampage through a shopping mall. Sound fun?


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).