"Eparistera Daimones"

(Century Media)

01. Goetia
02. Abyss Within My Soul
03. In Shrouds Decayed
04. Shrine
05. A Thousand Lies
06. Descendant
07. Myopic Empire
08. My Pain
09. The Prolonging

RATING: 9/10

Sickened, haughty, lurching, three weeks long and drenched in pretentious, glowering atmosphere, TRIPTYKON picks up right where CELTIC FROST's brilliant "Monotheist" left off. It's at once highbrow and lo-fi, art and brutality, and it places Tom Gabriel Fischer's "new" band immediately in the vanguard of the death and black metal genres he helped birth, while sidestepping nearly all of their restrictions.

From the outset, the time-stretching doom drone of "Goetia"'s intro sets an imperious, dread-soaked tone for the proceedings to come. The main riff before the verse is simplicity itself, but its uneasy tempo and minor-chord scrape make it a thing of dark, minimalist beauty. Not that TRIPTYKON don't dish out punishment as well, in jagged, primitive slashes, Fischer sounding barbaric and vicious as he barks over the crushing riffs of the verse and chorus. And none of that resembles the creepy monotone madrigal robot chant at the end of the song, around the ten-minute mark. In short, one TRIPTYKON song is a lesser band's concept album, a treasure trove of dynamics and plot twists buried under a sodden, oppressive blanket of dank, foggy atmosphere and morbidity.

If anything, you'd almost expect more "Into the Pandemonium" style oddities and flights of fancy from TRIPTYKON. Though "Myopic Empire" takes an abrupt left turn into a spooky piano-and-whisper interlude, and "My Pain" could fit on a PORTISHEAD album, there is a prevailing mood on "Eparistera Daimones", and that mood is bleak, feral, diseased, and queasy. While the songs churn and buckle like tectonic plates even in their most droning and ambient skeletal basics, one gets the sense that any experimentation for its own sake was scraped off these tracks early on, dismissed as counterproductive to that dark vibe. These songs are raw like scraped flesh, auditory wounds that throb with feeling and glower with an ugly, spiteful energy.

Fischer is one of the few people in the music world able to back up his truckloads of self-important pronouncements and defiant attitude with worthy, capital-A Art. TRIPTYKON's charred post-everything metal may find kindred spirits under a hundred different rocks, from NACHMYSTIUM to SATYRICON to 1349, but in renewing their own grim muse they've tapped directly into the spirit that made prime CELTIC FROST so important to all those bands' founders in the first place. A masterpiece of sleepless, timeless, crawling primal doom, not so much better than their peers as above them, in a place they'll likely never tread.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).