"Enter Deception"

(Metal Blade)

01. Leaving All Behind
02. A Sign Far Beyond
03. Never Again
04. Forever Unbound
05. Seen Through Time
06. Wakening
07. Releasing The Shadow
08. No Chances Lost

RATING: 9/10

First Pennsylvania's PHARAOH knocks one out of the park with the superb MAIDEN-influenced, traditional/power metal leviathan "The Longest Night", and now Omaha, Nebraska's (yes, you read that right) CELLADOR delivers a crushing blow with a speeding power metal tour de force called "Enter Deception". Could it be that the Americans have stolen the fire from the European progenitors? I'm sure that won't spark any debate, now will it? "Enter Deception" is a stunning debut from an incredibly tight and immensely talented quintet of musicians from America's heartland.

Impossibly fast and catchy as hell, "Enter Deception" sounds more like a group of seasoned veterans than a young (late teens to early 20s) metal rabble from Omaha. Erik Rutan's trampoline-tight production unleashes the overwhelming power of these eight tracks (Metal Blade head honcho Brian Slagel is listed as executive producer). It starts and ends with the first-rate musicianship of each of the band members. The fleet fingered guitar work of Chris Petersen and Bill Hudson is simply stunning. The twin harmonies that grace each of these powerful tracks are nothing short of awe-inspiring. Switching effortlessly from crunching riffs to soaring solos to the aforementioned harmonies, the duo sets this baby ablaze. The rhythm section of drummer David Dahir and Valentin Rakhmanov is as much a test of human endurance as it is a muscle-bound display of instrumental prowess. I mean, wow, listening to these four guys fire off round after round is staggering, and guaranteed to leave the toughest of headbangers breathless. Lead vocalist Michael Gremio is equally dominant, his style taking the best of Bruce Dickinson's unmatched delivery and making it his own.

The songs? Every one is a highlight. Few albums maintain this level of consistency from track to track. Honestly, pick a song, any song. Largely unconcerned with tempo variation, the group attacks with a vengeance from beginning to end; every chorus is memorable and the intensity level never wanes. Whether it is the harmony vocals on the chorus of "Wakening" or the triumphant melodies of "No Chances Lost" and "A Sign Far Beyond", the quality level remains sky high.

Assuming you prefer the heavier end of power metal and can only fork out the bucks for a couple of albums this year, make it CELLADOR's "Enter Deception" and PHARAOH's "The Longest Night". In making your choice, those looking for more arrangement variation are advised to go with the latter, those desiring an unrelenting, go-for-the-throat attack may prefer the former.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).