"Educated Horses"


01. Sawdust In The Blood
02. American Witch
03. Foxy Foxy
04. Seventeen Years Locust
05. The Scorpion Sleeps
06. 100 Ways
07. Let It All Bleed Out
08. Death Of It All
09. Ride
10. The Devil's Rejects
11. Lords Of Salem

RATING: 7/10

It's been five years since ROB ZOMBIE's last album and second solo effort, 2001's "The Sinister Urge", and during that time, while Zombie wrote and directed his first two feature films, there was doubt about whether he would even return to music. Well, he has, and "Educated Horses" doesn't sound like the work of an artist who's had enough of music just yet. Far more focused and insistent than "Urge", the new effort opens some doors for Zombie and also channels his influences more directly than before.

Fans of the industrial metal sounds of his first band, WHITE ZOMBIE, may not enjoy all that "Horses" offers up, since those days are long gone.

Opting to record with a live band and rely less on programming and samples, Zombie has gone for grooves that harken back to Seventies glam rock titans like SWEET and T-REX, as well as one of his biggest inspirations, ALICE COOPER. Zombie's vocals sound more like the Coop than ever on the album, while the bouncing beats of tracks like "The Scorpion Sleeps" and "Foxy, Foxy" recall the glittery rock stylings of classic tunes like T-REX's "Bang A Gong" and SWEET's "Blockbuster".

All this makes "Educated Horses" more of a melting pot than previous efforts, but the disc also features some typically heavy Zombie material like the pounding album opener "American Witch" and "Let It All Bleed Out".

With "Witch" and "Lords Of Salem", as well as the use of the phrase "educated horses" in several songs, there seems to be a thematic unity to the album as well, although as usual Zombie keeps his lyrics purposely vague.

The band on the album consists of ex-MARILYN MANSON guitarist John 5, longtime bassist Rob "Blasko" Nicholson and drummer Tommy Clufetos (with some material featuring Tommy Lee left over from the album's initial 2003 sessions), and in many ways this is the most "band"-sounding, loosest record in Zombie's catalog. As a vocalist, Zombie relies as always more on style and attitude than range and power, but the group behind him is solid, the album short enough (nine songs plus two brief instrumental passages) to not outstay its welcome, and the songs punchy and crunchy, with a big, speaker-filling sound.

WHITE ZOMBIE's original fusion of crushing metal, downtown New York art-noise and B-movie mood was an enormous, unique hit when it first emerged in the late Eighties, and it's fair to argue that neither that band throughout its career nor Zombie himself as a solo artist have taken a whole lot of chances since. But with trends coming and going as fast as George Bush lies and breaks the law (which is pretty damn quick), Rob Zombie remains true to his own identity and his own particular style, of which "Educated Horses" is a fine example.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).