(Nuclear Blast)

01. Two Moons
02. House of Sleep
03. Leaves Scar
04. Born From Fire
05. Under a Soil and Black Stone
06. Perkele (The God of Fire)
07. The Smoke
08. Same Flesh
09. Brother Moon
10. Empty Opening

RATING: 8.5/10

One of the few times in recorded metal history when a vocalist change didn't provoke a nerd riot among a band's followers, the ascension of Tomi Joutsen to the singer position in AMORPHIS has signaled instead a renaissance for these enigmatic Finns. Yes, the death growls are back, in limited quantity, and yes, there's that unique folk-tinged metal flavor here, the sound that made "Tales From the Thousand Lakes", "Elegy" and "Tuonela" so refreshing.

But let's not be too hasty here — "Am Universum" and "Far From the Sun" were good records, too. And "Eclipse" isn't a complete "for the fans" retreat to the days of yore. There's a lot of the modern-day "rock and roll" AMORPHIS here, albeit delivered with a passion and spark that was intermittent in recent years. Put it this way, they don't sound like a death metal band again, so don't get your hopes up, 1992 holdouts. Instead, this is the sound of a band comfortable in its own skin, and all its various facets, finally combining them in a winning way and making their first must-have record in quite a while.

Joutsen has a deeper, more authoritative voice than previous belter Pasi Koskinen, even at his most accessible. And make no mistake, Euro single "House of Sleep" is just that, a relentlessly catchy, piano-driven single with a great guitar hook and that mid-'90s PARADISE LOST rhythm and tempo (which they in turn borrowed from "Black Album" METALLICA). But even here, in the bridge, there's an interlude of that spacy, spooky aura, Finnish folk tales spun through BLUE ÖYSTER CULT's acid trip.

"Leaves Scar" and "Perkele (God of Fire)" feature entire verses delivered in the death metal voice, and their rollicking tone and insistent organ make them perhaps the strongest link to the band's revered past. But an energy and accessibility remains even here, proof that the band has no intention of throwing out the last few years' changes and developments in their sound.

For the uninitiated (and where have you been?), this sound is a pretty singular headtrip — warm, chiming guitars in circular patterns, interspersed with keyboards and locked down with heavy rhythms, Jouten voice alternating between thunderous declarations from the mountaintop and a smoother, more reflective tone. Lyrically, the band have ventured back into Finnish folklore, their arcane lyrics only adding to their strange juxtaposition of history and modernity. The whole thing has a vital, organic sound to it, loads of class, and intensity even in the most sedate songs.

In short, everything you could want from an AMORPHIS record, if you're a fan of anything from "Tales From the Thousand Lakes" onward, is here in spades. Their vibe is timeless, and their sound not entirely metal, though without metal it could not exist. In one way, this is the "for the fans" record — but it also happens to be their strongest batch of material in years, arguably since "Tales", delivered with a renewed fervor and the haunting, atmospheric echoes of Scandinavian legend.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).