"Doomsday Rock 'N Roll"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Doomsday Overture
02. Serial Killer
03. Hate
04. Trouble with the Law
05. Chrome Division
06. Here Comes Another One
07. 1st Regiment
08. Breath Easy
09. The Angel Falls
10. Till the Break of Dawn
11. We Want More
12. When the Shit Hits the Fan

RATING: 7.5/10

"Listen up, pay attention, it's ass kickin' time!", so shouts CHROME DIVISION lead vocalist Eddie Guz (THE CARBURETORS) during "1st Regiment" from the band's debut album, "Doomsday Rock 'N Roll". And you know what? He wasn't kidding. Also, featuring guitarist Shagrath (DIMMU BORGIR), bassist Bjorn Luna (ASHES TO ASHES), guitarist Ricky Black, and drummer Tony White, CHROME DIVISION is a side project with teeth, not to mention dirt, balls, and just about any other rock 'n' roll cliché you can think of.

The tunes are wild 'n' wooly, often with a filthy MOTÖRHEAD vibe and tons of booze-soaked, biker-rock attitude. A bevy of hot riffs, driving rhythms, tough solos, and catchy choruses led by Guz's grizzly vocals will make even the stuffiest rock fan get off his ass and break shit. "Trouble with the Law" even begins with the revving of a motorcycle (cliché, yes, but oh so appropriate), the song full of mid-tempo groove 'n' burn that picks up the pace on the chorus. The stop-start stomp of "The Angel Falls" would not be out of place on a BRAND NEW SIN album. The same goes for "We Want More", one that boasts a serious southern rock swing with the inclusion of some female backing vocals. A little boogie stomp on "Here Comes Another One" doesn't hurt either. The crème de la crème is definitely the album's first single, "Serial Killer". A MOTÖRHEAD fuel injection and shout-worthy chorus make it a perfect companion piece for high-speed road trips and backyard beer bashes.

No messing around here, "Doomsday Rock 'N Roll" is a nothing but a raucous good time. Forget about trend jumping and wheel reinvention. Just get ready to rock your asses off.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).