"Don't Trust Nobody"


01. Stranger in the Window
02. Devein
03. Amongst the Vultures
04. Believe Nothing
05. Bleed it Dry
06. Random Acts of Knifings
07. Huron
08. I Take that Back
09. Worse Case
10. Torn Apart
11. Uncrossing
12. Derailed
13. Baitin' the Traps

RATING: 6/10

Counting members of EYEHATEGOD, CLEARLIGHT, and OUTLAW ORDER in its ranks, it's a cinch that New Orleans' HAWG JAW aren't going to be the next MTV darlings. When you read terms like "sludgecore" in reference to the band's sound, believe it. "Don't Trust Nobody" is the band's fifth full-length and though this is my first exposure to the gnarly ones, I'm leaning toward thinking that sound expansion was not the first order of business in creation of the disc.

More Rollins-era BLACK FLAG, MELVINS, and BUZZOV-EN than EYEHATEGOD, the crust 'n' burn of "Don't Trust Nobody" may not be a watershed release, but there is enough southern, whiskey-laced attitude and abrasive Greg Ginn guitar riffing to satisfy most fans of the rough stuff. Several songs, such as "Stranger in the Window", "Huron", "Derailed", and "I Take that Back" are of the old school hardcore variety, albeit with a propulsive sludge drive and crusty covering. "Random Acts of Knifings" gets the award for most Ginn-like, the knurled and mostly up-tempo BLACK FLAG style more than obvious. The group slows it down on a few tracks as well, most notably on the crawling and trippy "Bleed it Dry". Right up there with "Stranger in the Window" as album highlight is "Amongst the Vultures", one of the disc's nastiest and most convincing stabs through the heart, featuring standout line, "everyone's got a little vulture inside."

The sound mix, while basically well suited to the act's stripped down style, could stand to be louder and fuller. It is not that the coarse guitar tone and bare-bones rhythm section sound are a problem, but more like the unit's power potential has been suppressed. I always felt like I wanted to keep turning it up to bring out the instruments. It is not a huge problem though, more like a slight irritation.

In the end "Don't Trust Nobody" is a solid slab of sledgehammer crust and NOLA sickness. It just seems to be missing that certain something that would have made it a standout out amongst its peers. I always caught myself getting a little tired of it halfway through. Yes, it's heavy and pissed off. It just doesn't leave the kind of lasting impression I would have expected.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).