"Distractive Killusions"


01. Narrenschyff
02. The Dawnfall (Hamartia and Hybris)
03. Infinity Horizon
04. Rage of Reason
05. Of Bitterness and Clarity
06. Silence Makes Noise (Eternity - The Mood)
07. Hell is for Children
08. Aesthesis
09. Distractive Cryscendo

RATING: 8/10

"Distractive Killusions" is the sound of a band at the top of its game. Featuring drummer Daray (VADER) and vocalist/guitarist Orion (BEHEMOTH), Poland's VESANIA found a groove on 2005's "God the Lux", a symphonic black metal album that is heavy on the atmosphere, but "Distractive Killusions" sees the group reaching a whole new level. Now the symphonic bombast comes with improved (read: more memorable) songwriting and a black/death pummel packed with strong riffs and an even fiercer drum attack. The X Studio (ANTIGAMMA, NYIA) recording with engineer/co-producer Szymon Czech gives the album a bigger punch too.

What is most noticeable on "Distractive Killusions" is how quickly the songs distinguish themselves from one track to the next. Whereas "God the Lux" worked more as a mood album with the aforementioned emphasis on atmosphere, the new album offers songs that stand on their own and leave a bigger impact. It is apparent from opener "Narrenschyff" during which one hears the blasting attack come with better riffs and Orion barking in a louder, more intelligible voice. As an aside, the segment of maniacal laughter that occurs at one point in the song is not only wonderfully macabre, but also perfectly suited to the track. The quality level remains high the entire way. "The Dawnfall (Hamartia and Hybris)" features a catchy melody and lyrics that become imbedded in the brain, "Silence Makes Noise (Eternity - The Mood)" charges out of the gates with a demented keyboard section/rhythm and evolves into a unique (for the style), though no less devastating, cut. When "Hell is for Children" (no, not the PAT BENATAR song) arrives, the band effectively changes pace to a slow tempo with a nefarious keyboard arrangement.

Finally, the DIMMU BORGIR comparisons continue to be accurate, yet only to a certain extent, mainly because of the symphonic aspects. While I did not expect a stinker from these veterans, I was pleasantly surprised at how "Distractive Killusions" outdoes its predecessor. I expect the album to earn VESANIA a bevy of new fans.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).