"Dispute the Truth"


01. Cancer
02. Forced Choice
03. The Answer
04. The Light Burned Blind
05. All I'm Able
06. The Filthy Few
07. In Contempt
08. Lifetimes to Come
09. Ascendance
10. The Legion

RATING: 7/10

"Dispute the Truth" by Los Angeles' CERBERUS is Swedish melodic death metal with a dab of heavy American thrash, and it is done right. Tried and true, yes, but executed skillfully with solid songwriting and an overall toughness and spirit that makes for a very enjoyable listen.

The follow up to "The Cage of Existence" (on Hell and Death Records) and last year's "What Have We Become" EP benefits from a thick and warm sound from producer Zack Ohren (LIGHT THIS CITY, ALL SHALL PERISH, ANIMOSITY). Vocalist John Guettler sports a mid-range, intelligible growl that is a welcome change from the slew of Lindberg imitators, while guitarists Lanny Perelman (rhythm) and Sean Olk (lead) come up with strong melodies and the occasional solo only when the song calls for it. The rhythm section of drummer Roger Watson and bassist Marcus Cohen is tight and offers a kind of rubbery low-end texture that sounds great. Overall, the combination of instrument clarity and a certain indefinable, spirited vibe makes for an album that, for lack of a better description, feels good.

Song-wise, there are opportunities galore to get that head banging, most notably on album, opening cuts "Cancer" and "Forced Choice". One trio of songs in particular is worthy of mention for collectively forming the album's highlight section. "All I'm Able", "Filthy Few" (perhaps the album's best), and "In Contempt" rock hard and offer the listener fairly catchy melodies without any softening of the band's heavy edge. The album does begin to drag, just a hair, toward the end, owing to a style that becomes a little too familiar, but that has nothing to do with a weakening in songwriting.

Nowadays you can throw a rock out of a car window and hit a band playing this style of metal. Fortunately, you'll still hit a few that perform with gusto and bust out some pretty decent songs. CERBERUS is one of those bands and while they may not wow anyone from an originality standpoint, they still serve up some hot and tasty metal.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).