"Dirty Power"


01. Burning Hearts
02. Now!
03. Wild Dogs
04. Alaska
05. Satan's Arms
06. Off We Go
07. Take Care
08. The High One
09. The Future
10. More
11. Down There
12. Lady From the Sun

RATING: 7/10

Americans notoriously mix up Sweden and Switzerland, but in at least this one case, you could forgive a stoner rock fan some confusion. While Sweden has cranked out a truly legendary batch of riff-driven, fuzz-happy bands, the Swiss scene remains far less known (quick, raise your hands if you've heard of THE TOENAILS... anyone?). ZAMARRO earned a little bit of notoriety earlier this decade solely for having the ambition to travel to the USA and record their first two discs with noted grunge-man Jack Endino. They've gigged alongside the right people (WOLFMOTHER, DANKO JONES, FU MANCHU), too — so why hasn't 99.9% of the world heard of them?

Well, taking four years off probably didn't help matters — but make no mistake, ZAMARRO has roared back from the dead on "Dirty Power". Fusing the straightforward riffgasm of FU MANCHU with some of the sly pop sensibility of THE HELLACOPTERS, and a little bit of ersatz muscle-car kitsch, the power trio kicks out some fun verse-chorus-verse hard rock anthems with a nice mix between metal riffing and pop dazzle. They're clearly writing for an arena that exists only in their heads, but there's nothing wrong with that — the world still needs bands in basements penning songs about how they're rocking faces and moistening panties by the stadium-load.

The band has a pretty limited palette, and a fairly flat vocal range (despite a few nice harmonies here and there), so by the end of "Dirty Power", the energy level starts to dissipate a little bit. But when they're on, cranking out heartfelt and hard-driving songs like "Now!" and the surprisingly smooth and lush "Alaska", ZAMARRO could turn the head of any fan of the Swiss — or Swedish — stoner scene. If you want simple riffs, hard grooves, melodic vocals and big choruses, ZAMARRO should hit you right in the pewter belt buckle and leave a lasting impression. They're not a great band, but they're a damn good one, and they got a lotta heart.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).