"Death Rituals"

(Metal Blade)

01. Death By Machete
02. Involuntary Movement Of Dead Flesh
03. None Will Escape
04. Eulogy For The Undead
05. Seed Of Filth
06. Bastard
07. Into The Crematorium
08. Shot In The Head
09. Killed In Your Sleep
10. Crossroads To Armageddon
11. Ten Deadly Plagues
12. Crossing The River Styx (guitar outro)
13. Murder Addiction

RATING: 7/10

For as many years as I've written about SIX FEET UNDER, the comments have always been the same: "They suck balls!" or "They rule!" Eight studio albums in (not counting live releases and the "Graveyard Classics" series) and SIX FEET UNDER are still going strong. I'll admit that I was a bigger fan for the first few albums and cared less and less as the years went on, but I've never considered myself an SFU hater. The last few albums — "Bringer of Blood", "13", and "Commandment" — saw the band running in place and drifting toward mediocrity, a few highlights notwithstanding. That said, I don't think those albums "sucked balls" either. I wasn't expecting anything different with "Death Rituals", but am pleasantly surprised with the results. This one is the best thing that SIX FEET UNDER have done in several years.

This time around SIX FEET UNDER had all the material for "Death Rituals" written before entering the studio, the exact opposite of what was done for "Commandment" and "13", and it has made a big difference in song quality. Additionally, the sound is less "death 'n roll" and more old school, straightforward death metal, while groove continues to be a major component. Chris Barnes' production is strong, Steve Swanson's riffs are solid and his soloing is vastly improved. Barnes' vocals aren't as brawny as they used to be and his patented nasal whine is weaker and used sparingly as a result, yet his voice is still a relatively unique commodity in death metal.

I wouldn't call the songwriting a level jump, but it is considerably better — a bit more dynamic and consistent from beginning to end. Some of that may have to do with an approach heard on several songs that recalls the earliest albums, as is the case on "Shot in the Head" and "Death by Machete". Neither would have been out of place on 1999's "Maximum Violence". OBITUARY style grooves (and dreadful vibes) are present on a few tracks as well, most notably "Eulogy for the Undead" — from slow and grinding to up tempo and pummeling — and "Seed of Filth", which is pure down tempo, grooving SFU. "Ten Deadly Plagues" is notable for its sick and doom-laden feel. The rendition of MÖTLEY CRÜE's "Bastard" continues the band's love of cover songs and it is actually a decent toe-tapper (at least if you liked the original) with Barnes' gurgling spew.

Other than the spooky and strange interlude "Crossroads to "Armageddon", the new album is definitive SIX FEET UNDER. It's not like the group has turned into PSYCROPTIC or made a tour de force. They just do what they do better than we've heard in a while.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).