"Dat Iz Voodoo"


01. Yesterdays & Tomorrows
02. Is There Anybody There?
03. Alone
04. Dark Room
05. Roses
06. Rainbows
07. Psycho World
08. Never
09. Run
10. Second Wind
11. The End
12. Closer

RATING: 7.5/10

There has been quite a buzz surrounding this Trinidadian act ever since the release of "Upstairs", ORANGE SKY's debut album, particularly about the act's reportedly amazing live performances. Unfortunately, I overlooked the debut, but after hearing "Dat Iz Voodoo", I'm certain that it was my loss indeed. The sophomore effort is a (largely) hard rockin' affair with reggae and funk splashes that is nothing if not refreshing.

Though not easily pigeonholed, KING'S X is the act bubbles to the surface most often — just listen to "Dark Room" and you'll really hear it — due to the seamless mix of hot riffs and even hotter melodies. When the group rocks hardest on songs like the absolutely riff-tastic "Yesterdays & Tomorrows" and frenetic groover "Psycho World" the result is magnificently moving. The former tune's arrangement is especially sizzling with tough riffs and mammoth arrangement turns.

The reggae beats and guitar parts are present, most notably on the stunning rendition of the SCORPIONS' "Is There Anybody There?" but are not the focal point one might think and certainly isn't the case on every track. Of course, any time the Caribbean-accented phrasing occurs it is difficult not to get that island vibe. And while we're talking about vocals, the style is not only tuneful and infectious, but the staccato verse patterns on songs like "Alone" and "Second Wind" offer an even more flavorful listening experience.

On the other end of the spectrum "Dat Iz Voodoo" also features a handful of ballad-esque and melody-drenched rock moments. "Second Wind" and "Closer" are both strong cuts, the latter's pop-based structure impacting, whereas "Roses", a power ballad called "Rainbows", and straight ballad "Never" don't work quite as well, though are more than acceptable from a songwriting standpoint. It all depends on one's taste for that sort of thing.

The bottom line is that "Dat Iz Voodoo" is first and foremost a guitar-based rock album, yet it offers much more in the way of musical diversity and compositional dynamics, even though the style-hopping gets stretched too much a times. Regardless, ORANGE SKY is a band to watch and from what I hear you'll not want to miss them in their support slot on the upcoming KING'S X tour.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).