"Cycle Repeats"


01. Seed
02. Squeeze
03. Equation 999
04. Forsaken Last
05. Time Damages Me
06. Sandglass
07. Black Report
08. Planetoid
09. Story and Reality
10. Before Burning to Ashes

RATING: 4/10

Average, harmless metalcore from Japan is what we find on LOST EDEN's debut, "Cycle Repeats". Though their country of origin might add a bullet point to their marketing plan, the fact is that this music could come from anywhere in the west right now. If you've heard AS I LAY DYING, TRIVIUM, SOILWORK or KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, you'll feel right at home when "Cycle Repeats" begins, and you'll probably be bored by the third or fourth song.

That's not to say the band is all bad. Their execution is strong, and their tasteful use of keyboards is a nice touch, fleshing out their songs with a bit of memorable melody. The clean vocals in the choruses, while sounding hopelessly typical in these metalcore-glutted days, are done well and written with a keen ear for hooks. But the fact remains that the band has chosen to stick well within the worn-out conventions of metalcore, resulting in an album of songs you'll swear you've heard before. It makes it hard to care about the band, or the album.

The highlight of the album, indeed the only memorable spot on "Cycle Repeats" (a shoe-in for Most Appropriate Album Title of 2007), comes at the beginning of closer "Before Burning to Ashes". A cool synth hook kicks the song off, interacting with the guitar and presaging some blast beats, and for a brief shining moment it seems like LOST EDEN is going to rise above their self-imposed limitations and end on a high note. Even here, though, the song quickly descends into mediocrity, slipping quickly back into bland, familiar, gutless metalcore. Surely, someone besides us has noticed that this genre is getting stagnant and glutted — how many more third-tier acts like LOST EDEN can sneak into the spotlight before the labels finally clean house and send them back to obscurity? For completely rabid and undiscriminating metalcore addicts and incurable Japanophiles only.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).