01. Precursor To Enslavement
02. Viral Re-Animation
03. Regulated Disposal Of Life
04. Quarantine
05. The Contaminated
06. Exist In Confinement
07. Persuasive Oppression
08. Weaponized
09. Sadistic Experiments
10. Remnants Aflame
11. Ending Intellect

RATING: 7/10

Big, bad, and ugly, Chicago's OCEANO burst onto the deathcore the scene with 2009's "Depths" with a mission to be one of the heaviest bands on the planet. Whether they achieved such an audacious goal is arguable, but they did establish themselves as one of the better acts in this now crowded sub-genre; and yes, the sheer weight of the damn thing made a sizeable crater in the earth. A member exodus subsequent to the release of that album did nothing to stop the train and the group has reemerged with several fresh faces and a sound that is every bit as heavy on "Contagion".

The 'core is still intact, but "Contagion" is just as much a modern (read: down-tuned to the depths) death metal band that crushes with a degree of completion matched by few of their deathcore brethren. A concept album about "a highly contagious epidemic purposefully spread upon the population by corrupt positions of power," everything from the artwork to the overwhelming riff heft, seriously creepy tones, a massive bottom end, and the bellicose roar of vocalist of Adam Warren roll up on the listener with gang mentality and pure malice. The highlights here are "Quarantine", "The Contaminated", "Persuasive Oppression", and "Remnants Aflame", all of which benefit from syncopated bursts of violence and eerie guitar bits that work well in coloring the tracks. A moody instrumental, albeit one with some spoken parts, called "Exist in Confinement" is also a standout.

The one knock you'll probably hear about the album is that it lacks some measure of track distinction, largely because of an oft-used formula that features alternating super-aggressive speed blasts and bottom-feeding muck crawls, as well as an approach that emphasizes brutality over conventional song craft. WHITECHAPEL is one of the few bands of this ilk that has been able to maintain the heaviness without sacrifice of memorable songwriting. "Contagion" is however a grower that reveals some measure of depth with multiple spins. As such, one shouldn't pan OCEANO for doing what it does best; knocking dicks in the dirt.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).