"Come Clarity"


01. Take This Life
02. Leeches
03. Reflect The Storm
04. Dead End
05. Scream
06. Come Clarity
07. Vacuum
08. Pacing Death's Trail
09. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story is Scaring Everyone

RATING: 8.5/10

After the musical brilliance and Swedish might of IN FLAMES' "Colony" and "Clayman", it would have been damn near impossible for future albums to measure up. Initially unsure of "Reroute to Remain", the infinitely more melodic follow-up to "Clayman" ultimately hooked me and I ended up enjoying it immensely. But "Soundtrack to Your Escape" lost me. Perhaps a bit unfairly, after a couple of listens to the modernized, effects-laden follow-up, I put it on the shelf and basically ignored the band thereafter. Upon revisiting it, I find that it isn't nearly as bad as I first thought, but a longing for the "Clayman" era probably unduly influenced my distaste for it.

At first skeptical of the advance CD of "Come Clarity", it took me one listen to become a believer again. This may not be a true return to form, but it unequivocally succeeds in taking the aggressive, twin-guitar bliss and up-tempo aggressiveness of the classic works and retaining the catchy, broader appeal melodies of recent albums to make it a damn fine IN FLAMES recording. Programmed effects are still utilized, but to a much lesser degree and only for accent purposes.

The rejuvenated sound of the new effort is apparent right from the start, as album-opener and first single "Take This Life" speeds forth with a crushing rhythm section, precision harmonies, and memorable chorus. And it doesn't stop there. With a few minor exceptions, "Come Clarity" is a near perfect combination of speed-kill ferocity and infectious melody. Only the most jaded (and delusional) fan could lucidly argue that songs like "Vacuum" and "Versus Terminus" do not match the aggression and intensity of the group's heavier material. The only difference is songwriting maturity and an impeccable sense of melody. The combination of deep hook and cutting guitar interplay on "Crawl Through Knives" is one of the album's many highlights. That the band so deftly marries vintage IF song-structure with the angelic voice of Swedish pop sensation Lisa Miskovsky on "Dead End" says so much about the band's creativity. Had I not heard it with my own two ears I would never have guessed the boys could make it work so effectively. While I'm at it, the title track is another example of first-rate songwriting. The ballad-esque cut is by far the mellowest of the collection and it too is stunning. The entrancing tune features beautiful acoustic guitars, a soaring melodic lead, and melancholic chorus. Simply put, "Come Clarity" is packed with ass-kicking, catchy tunes.

If you believe that IN FLAMES ended its metallic relevancy after "Clayman", then I'm not sure "Come Clarify" will convince you otherwise. It should come close to changing your mind though. Let's face it, the band does not make the same album twice. Regardless of comparisons to past glories, "Come Clarity" is an excellent album.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).