"Chapter VII: Hope And Sorrow"

(7 Bros/Asylum Records)

01. Inside
02. Enough
03. Hope
04. Scapegoat
05. Fear
06. The Past
07. Prodigal Son
08. Lifeless
09. Sorrow
10. Contradiction
11. Walk Away

RATING: 6.5/10

I should start out by admitting that I've never been a huge SEVENDUST fan. I don't outwardly abhor the band and have even caught myself enjoying their energy-fueled live set (which hits much harder than any of their albums ever have) on an occasion or two. The one thing I will say about the Atlanta-based rockers is that, after 11 years of industry ups and downs, the band has never once strayed from their own path in lieu of changing trends. The LINKIN PARK's, GODSMACK's and LIMP BIZKIT's of the world have come and gone, and come back again in some cases, but SEVENDUST has stubbornly continued to play the same hook-laden heavy rock that brought them to the dance in the first place.

With all that being said, there is one downfall to the group's steadfastness and that is, after seven albums, the wheels are beginning to spin a little bit. "Chapter VII: Hope And Sorrow" follows that same, custom-tailored for FM rock radio formula that the masses gobble up like candy on Halloween. To completely bash the band for this would be a bit unfair, as they have managed to put together another album's worth of solid tunes that can simultaneously catch the ear and bang the head. A semi-industrial intro almost leads one to believe that opening track "Inside" is going to offer a new level of heaviness where SEVENDUST is concerned, but ultimately, the output is conservative at best. After a few bars of snarled, F-bomb-filled verse, vocalist Lajon Witherspoon plays it safe and goes straight to the soulfully crooned chorus that he's become famous for. Breaking out of their own box a little bit, "Hope" (featuring ALTER BRIDGE's Mark Tremonti) starts out with a mournful piano that slides into a slightly creepy verse section that sees the musicians subtly playing off one another before climaxing with thickly-layered heavy guitars. While this could be the most refreshing song I can remember hearing on a SEVENDUST disc, its counterpart, "Sorrow", is a solid, yet standard rocker which sees Miles Kennedy, also of ALTER BRIDGE fame, make an appearance. Speaking of guest appearances, former "American Idol" alum, Chris Daughtry lends a rather sappy vocal track to the obligatory acoustic ballad, "The Past". Songs like "Scapegoat" and "Walk Away" are prime examples of why SEVENDUST is still a viable band today, while lead single "Prodigal Son" misses the boat; thanks in part to the extra helping of cheese slapped on the song's lyrics ("I'm coming on like an elephant gun??" C'mon dude, you can do better than that).

Compared to the rest of their discography, "Chapter VII: Hope And Sorrow" probably won't be remembered as either the band's best, nor its worst output. There are several above average moments here, but none that really jump out of the speakers with enough vigor to floor the listener. What it does do is prove that SEVENDUST haven't gone anywhere and don't intend to anytime soon; for better or worse.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).