"Chapter Chaos Begins"


01. Chapter Chaos Begins
02. I Am Addicted
03. Suffer The Consequences
04. Fonce ou Crève
05. This is War
06. Technology Kills
07. Terremoto
08. Faster
09. Coupable
10. Abusive Mental Anarchy

RATING: 8/10

It is pleasant surprise time again. I'm talking about "Chapter Chaos Begins" by Montreal thrash kings ANONYMUS. It is a crime that more folks outside of Canada are not aware of the knuckle-busting thrash produced by this monster act. The group has moved quite a few units in its homeland and for good reason. An old school aesthetic, vicious riffing, varied arrangements, consistently solid songwriting, and a crisp production from the band and Jean-Francois Dagenais makes "Chapter Chaos Begins" a proud moment for thrash metal in 2006.

The kind of loose feel that was heard on old school records is present on the album, yet the trio of drummer/vocalist Carlos Araya, guitarist/vocalist Daniel Souto, and vocalist/bassist Oscar Souto is lethally tight, not to mention just plain ferocious. Oscar Souto's hostile barking and the razor sharp shred of his brother drives a compositionally accomplished and catchy group of songs. The guitars on this baby squawk, scream, and slice so violently that high-volume playing of the disc may cause deep lacerations for those standing too close. Stylistically, you'll hear bits of vintage METALLICA on a song like "Abusive Mental Anarchy", which incidentally happens to include a section in the middle of the track that sounds a good deal like the first part of the main riff to WHITE ZOMBIE's "Thunder Kiss '65" (for whatever that's worth). The almost nursery rhyme cadence on the bridge of killer "I Am Addicted", as well as the overall vibe, reminds one to some degree of classic ANNIHILATOR. The shouted chorus and frantic tempo of "Technology Kills" is straight from the Belladonna-era ANTHRAX book of thrash. That same type of crossover-influenced delivery is also heard on "Coupable", one of three songs sung entirely in French. The comparisons work more as reference points though, as the band does not lack identity.

In your face from start to finish and filled with the kind of screeching solos and riff maelstroms that will warm the hearts of old schoolers and newbies alike, "Chapter Chaos Begins" exemplifies why traditional thrash is so goddamn much fun. Just try to make it through the album without getting that humongous cranium of yours moving back and forth. This is tough stuff through and through.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).