(Warner Bros.)

01. Cannibal
02. No Submission
03. Behemoth
04. Chemical Logic
05. Destroyer
06. Forty Ways
07. Chroma-Matic
08. Cuts You Up
09. Reptile
10. Electric Pulse
11. Goat
12. Team Hate

RATING: 6/10

"Cannibal", the fifth album from STATIC-X, is also the band's most reductive and minimalist effort to date. It's stripped down and more raw than anything the band has done before, with a more brittle, punk-like production instead of the usual dense wall of sound the band has created in the past (the band split with longtime producer Ulrich Wild here, enlisting John Travis to co-produce with frontman Wayne Static). Lyrics are reduced to one or two words per line — with exceptions here and there — and most of the songs' choruses merely repeat the title over and over again. Riffs are equally simple, with many of them based on one or two notes or chords repeated ad infinitum, and the whole 13-song affair is over in a scant 40 minutes.

In the end, "Cannibal" rocks pretty hard but is almost too simple. The songs are so repetitive that they hit one level and just stay there, with the entire album itself operating on that same level and never hitting any peaks or valleys. And with frontman Wayne Static back to screaming his head off on every song — a step back to the group's 1999 debut, "Wisconsin Death Trip" — there's very little to lure the listener in vocally.

It's a brave move in some ways to strip everything down to the core in a band, but it's risky one too — think of the reaction to METALLICA's "St. Anger", which had a similar purpose and vibe. STATIC-X has been around for years, somehow managed to make five albums on a major label with only one of them selling more than a million copies, and has as many detractors as they do fans. "Cannibal" is not an effort that's going to garner them many new listeners and it's certainly not gonna land them a hit single, so in many ways it's the band's most uncompromised recording yet.

The shame is that it's also ultimately a boring one. While there's something bracing and in your face about songs like the title track, "Behemoth", "Destroyer", "Electric Pulse" and the loopy circus march of "Reptile", they're simply too one-dimensional to have any real impact. For an album called "Cannibal", there's very little flesh to sink one's teeth into.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).