"Burn the Flags"


01. Between the Lines
02. Part of Perfection
03. One and the Same
04. Raise Your Voice
05. Completed
06. Behind in Silence
07. Unseen Oppression
08. At the end of the Day
09. Dead or Confused

RATING: 7.5/10

I was prepared to toss this one into the metalcore overflow bin, even though the press quote states: "Expect influences that range from EXTOL to MESHUGGAH, OPETH to ENTOMBED, and BREACH to BURST." One should always take such grandiose statements with a grain of salt anyway. In the case of "Burn the Flags" by Sweden's BY NIGHT, it's only a slight exaggeration (i.e. OPETH). It's true that the Swedish melodic death/thrash metal and slight hardcore elements are present, but those elements are twisted into a form that is wholly BY NIGHT's.

The listen will be a hard one for some the first time through, the style identity not immediately apparent. The choppy (and incredibly crushing) riffs, and, yes, MESHUGGAH-like rhythms (not to mention the harsh shout vocals) are bruising and abrasive. Second and subsequent listens allow one to recognize depth in the arrangements and just a hint of accessibility, sheer brutality aside ("Raise Your Voice" and "Completed" being two that come to mind). Given the somewhat progressive feel of the disc, the odd rhythms, and the Swedish hardcore-influenced thrash bits (more feeling that outright style), some kind of combination of AT THE GATES and MESHUGGAH might be an apt comparison.

The sound mix on "Burn the Flags" is monstrous. A VERY heavy and ear-splitting recording, the cutting riffs are massive and the painful body blows disguised as drumming will leave welts. Adrian Westin's Peter-Dolving-on-meth vocals are out front in the mix and extremely aggressive. His vocal patterns don't change much, yet work well for BY NIGHT's music assault and battery.

Twelve or thirteen tunes might have made an already nerve-wracking experience unbearable (for some anyway), but nine is about perfect. When you toss in an instrumental toward the end of the album ("At the End of the Day") that features a more subdued riff chug and drum beat, presumably synth-generated strings, and a series of newscast clips, the style break is effective. Brief guitar harmonies that jump out of the mix provide a nice contrast to the otherwise vicious mix on "Unseen Oppression", and also serve to provide a few seconds to regain composure. In short, "Burn the Flags" is a solid release from a band that finds joy in the infliction of pain and appears to have more than a few tricks up its collective sleeve.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).