"Buried Alive"

(Century Media)

01. Funeral Intro
02. Where Waters Fall Frozen
03. May Today Become the Day
04. Neverlasting
05. Bleed
06. The Rain Comes Falling Down
07. Ever-Frost
08. Sun Won't Shine
09. Dead Moon Rising
10. Despair-Ridden Hearts
11. Broken
12. The Suicider/Excuse Me While I Kill Myself
13. The War Ain't Over!
14. Nepenthe
15. Northern Lights
16. The Way I Wanna Go
17. Dance on the Graves (Lil' Siztah)
18. Noose
19. Aila Multaa Muistot (Everything Is Nothing)
20. Farewell
21. No One There
22. Drown Together
23. Cross My Heart and Hope to Die
24. Brief Is the Light
25. Vengeance Is Mine
26. End of the Road

RATING: 7/10

So this is it, the final farewell to a band that called it quits voluntarily after evolving from barren death metal artisans and English manglers ("Rot to Dead"! "Desperationed Future"!) in the late 1980s to a sleek, melancholy hit-making machine (in their native Finland, anyway). While some would point out that SENTENCED had "matured" to the point where many of their songs seemed a bit too similar, there's no denying the sheer cojones it takes to voluntarily pull the plug on a band at the top of its popularity.

Then again, we shoulda seen it coming — it's not as if SENTENCED haven't been talking about offing themselves, literally or figuratively, for at least a decade now. And let it be said that the band knows how to throw one helluva wake — an instantly sold-out show from October of last year is captured here, and the crowd is eager to sing along, clap to the acoustic parts, and chant (an endearing three-syllable "SEN! TEN! CED!") at any open moment.

The band is in fine form, with a clear mix that actually sounds live and unvarnished, with occasional vocal slip-ups from singer Ville Laihiala -- a true document of the night in question, not a studio-rigged best of with superfluous crowd noise. This is a hometown show for the people who put the band on top, definitely -- Laihiala delivering his between-song rants in Finnish, not kowtowing to the international release of this live album.

Disc two opens with a treat, sort of — original vocalist Taneli Jarva shows up to warble his way through a set of older tracks from his time in the band. "The War Ain't Over!" and "The Way I Wanna Go" are kickass tunes, but Jarva sounds even more ludicrous than he did back then, bellowing in a comical and off-key holler with all the style and finesse of an overwrought Middle-Earth dwarf. Laihiala returns for "Noose", and brings things back into the present day for a well-received finale, including a scorching "Cross My Heart and Hope To Die" that especially hits home on this night.

Even with over two dozen tunes included, some might question the song selection (no "Killing Me, Killing You"?). And, if you're one of those people for whom a little SENTENCED goes a long way, this is gonna seem like a particularly monotonous horsepill to swallow, too many redundant hard rock songs about suicide broken up only by Jarva's Muppet-mouthed trip down memory lane. But if you can't wallow in your catalog at your farewell concert, where can you? This is a document for the diehards, delivered in the same wry and droll manner as the band's best studio work, and a fitting sendoff for one of Finland's most beloved exports.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).