01. Arising Armament (intro)
02. Supreme Pain For The Tyrant
03. Sail Into The Sunset’s Fire
04. Next Republic
05. Rage Of My Sword
06. Between Silence And Death
07. Resurrection Pyre
08. Set Fire To The Island
09. Defenders Of Bú-tik Palace
10. Undying Rearmament (outro)

RATING: 10/10

Taiwanese freedom fighters CHTHONIC, long standing as Asia's answer to EMPEROR and SATYRICON, have organically refined their folk-decorated brand of extreme metal over the years. As of their previous album "Takasago Army", CHTHONIC has become a far more theatrical and emotive unit in their mission to cast light upon acts of barbarism committed within their native land. Their customary gusts of weeping ehru, koto and shamisen ground what expectedly unravels into some of the fastest and most articulate metal music on the planet.

"Bú-Tik", the group's seventh album, runs like a berserker on the heels of "Takasago Army" and even its predecessor "Mirror of Retribution"'s melodious aggression. More so, it taps back into the pummeling ferocity of "Seedig Bale" and the nastier cuts of "Relentless Recurrence". This time, however, CHTHONIC's trials between black and power metal modes have been tested and the ghoul paint has been nixed in favor of a more metal militant exterior. Accordingly, "Bú-Tik" is not only battle ready, it's the perfect storm of enmity and majesty.

Recounting the 228 Massacre, a torrential Taiwanese uprising against Chinese aggressors, "Bú-Tik" corrals the event's vengeance with far more conviction than your standard rain of black metal hellfire. "Bú-Tik" whisks its audience not only into the violent maw of the 228 Massacre, but, as the band themselves describe it, back to gory themes from their previous four albums.

Capitalizing upon an efficient forty minutes filled with tireless velocity and spellbinding signature changes, "Bú-Tik" cajoles listeners' sympathies despite the brute ugliness serving as the foundation of the album. Virtuosity rules alongside "Bú-Tik"'s unstoppable harshness and CHTHONIC pushes their global outcry for justice onto a blistering yet extravagant platform. "Bú-Tik" will devastate newcomers and affirm to the band's ever-growing legion that each previous album they've recorded has led to this, a surefire masterpiece.

Opened and closed with a Taiwanese kindred of Japanese taiko, war drums surge along with a cinematic synth score on "Arising Armament" and come to a close applied to a solemn pgaki flute. All moments between are played in the key of chaos. Endless speed careens through "Sail Into the Sunset's Fire", "Next Republic", "Rage of My Sword", "Resurrection Pyre" and so forth. You'll seldom breathe easy on this feverish ride.

While blaring synths largely accented the uncaged fury of CHTHONIC's earlier works, an entire arsenal of traditional and electronic instruments beautify the quick wristed shredding of Jesse Liu, the compact bass lines of Doris Yeh, the curling rips and rolls of Dani Wang and of course, the primal yelps of Freddy Lim. With all of the senses-splicing tempo changes on "Resurrection Pyre", the combination of natural instrumentation plus CJ Kao's keys and samples turns a blazing monster of a track into a mini metal opera. Subsequently, "Set Fire to the Island" grows even more expressive with wallowing ehru lines and ghostly female background vocals augmenting the track's strenuous pace.

As Chair of the Taiwanese branch of Amnesty International, Freddy Lim's rampant and broad-ranged rasps bears the sanguinary history of his country. He never fails to pour every swollen ounce of angst he harbors out of his esophagus, thus "Bú-Tik" is as much his triumph as his cohorts'.

CHTHONIC has proven themselves true to their own cause and should anyone have been worried that that the corroding brutality of "Seedig Bale" has been relegated to the past, then "Bú-Tik" will dissolve those notions. This is a far better album in every dimension. The few moments "Bú-Tik" allows itself to slow down, there is still intensity and stateliness, as "Defenders of Butik Palace" reveals in the powerful final sections that range between mid-tempo stomps and explosive grinds. All heaped with senses-colliding supplementation shoved into every cranny CHTHONIC can dig into. The coda of "Defenders of Butik Palace" is one of the most breathtaking moments you'll hear in metal all year. As if the splendor woven into the midst of "Between Silence and Death"'s broiling triplicates wasn't magnificent enough.

If there's a better metal album yet to come in 2013, bring it on.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).