01. Intro
02. Two Inches from a Main Artery
03. When Everything Becomes Nothing
04. Bringer of Truth
05. Beneath Dying Skies
06. The Black Death and its Aftermath
07. Truest Shade of Crimson
08. With Eyes Ever Turned Inward
09. Force Fed Trauma
10. The Decaying Process
11. Outro

RATING: 6/10

It would not be inaccurate to call "Bloodlust" a death metal album, provided one takes the description in context. THROUGH THE EYES OF THE DEAD's debut full-length for Prosthetic is not guaranteed to satisfy those seeking to quench a thirst for CANNIBAL CORPSE or DISMEMBER. It is not that kind of death metal. Think more in terms of death metal by way of metalcore. In other words, this ain't your old man's death metal.

"Bloodlust" is a brutal affair with little in the way of hardcore breakdowns and not a pleasantly sung note to be found. Anthony Gunnels' growls are of the mid-register, abrasive variety (more along the lines of what you'd hear from ALL SHALL PERISH, rather than, say, SUFFOCATION) and his screaming parts are very similar to what Trevor Strnad does with THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER. There are some nice crunchy riffs, as well as those all-important muted harmonies that bring out a modicum of melody in the compositions. A smattering of effective leads on tracks like "Truest Shade of Crimson" and "With Eyes Ever Turned Inward" serve to break up the crush, as opposed to acting as "solos" in the strictest sense of the word. Dayton Cantley (now replaced by Josh Kulick) does a fine job on the skins, adding plenty of accent work and fills to his kick-drum attacks, always a good thing when the music doesn't emphasize melody or hooks. A few times through the album and "Bringer of Truth" begins to surface as the standout track, followed closely by "Force Fed Trauma". That said, nothing ever really jumps out at you, even though it does appear that the band spent some time on the arrangements to ensure at least a limited degree of variety across the album.

On the whole, there is nothing to dislike on "Bloodlust", especially for those with a hankerin' for the heavy stuff (which often includes myself). At the same time, it's difficult to recommend this album over countless others that sound similar.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).