"Bleed the Fifth"

(Century Media)

01. Bleed the Fifth
02. Failed Creation
03. The Threat is Real
04. Impossible is Nothing
05. Savior Self
06. Rise of the Scorned
07. False Gospel
08. Soul Decoded (Now and Forever)
09. Royal Blood Heresy
10. Closure

RATING: 8/10

FEAR FACTORY and BRUJERIA co-founder Dino Cazares is about to kick the world's ass on his own terms as guitarist/bassist for an explosive vehicle called DIVINE HERESY. Enlisting the services of super drummer Tim Yeung (HATE ETERNAL, VITAL REMAINS), and versatile vocalist Tommy Vext, Cazares went about the business of making a debut album that wreaks havoc right out of the starting gate and doesn't stop until all have fallen.

The syncopated rhythmic blasts of FEAR FACTORY are matched with modern death/thrash riffs, while the songwriting is memorable on the more purely aggressive material and downright infectious on the tracks that feature melodic clean vocals. Yeung's battering ram drumming, Cazares' distinctive/destructive riffing that often does remind of FF, and Vext's PANTERA/PISSING RAZORS extreme vocals by themselves would have made for an ass-kicker of an album (check out "The Threat is Real" and "False Gospel" for good examples). But it is when the act incorporates clean vocals and catchy choruses into songs like "Failed Creation", "Impossible is Nothing", "Savior Self", and "Rise of the Scorned" that "Bleed the Fifth" becomes a complete album that maintains momentum and keeps the listener's attention. The Burton C. Bell comparison on the clean vocal parts will be inevitable, but mainly because of Cazares' FEAR FACTORY pedigree, rather than pure style cloning.

The fact of the matter is that blending the extreme with the melodic is well done on "Bleed the Fifth". Even on "Closure", during which the harshness is largely removed and Vext maintains a melodic style throughout, the results are strong, even if it sounds like it was written in a STAIND-liked fashion to allow for potential crossover appeal. In short, it's a good song too. Above all else, "Bleed the Fifth" is one tough son of a bitch that may still have you humming melodies long after you've ejected the disc.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).