"Believe in Nothing"


01. I Am Nothing
02. Mouth
03. Fader
04. Look At Me Now
05. Illumination
06. Something Real
07. Divided
08. Sell It To The World
09. Never Again
10. Control
11. No Reason
12. World Pretending

RATING: 7/10

Much has been made of PARADISE LOST's supposed return to their roots on their eighth studio album following the group's critically-panned foray into the less guitar-heavy territories on the otherwise enjoyable Host release, with the band themselves describing the new CD as a far more "headbanging" effort than its predecessor. It is, therefore, disappointing to learn that Believe In Nothing is, at best, a more organic version of the aforementioned album, featuring a few genuinely heavy moments, but revolving largely around the same kind of bland vocal melodies a less-than-aggressive vibe that, over the course of a full-length record, start to significantly erode the effectiveness of the quintet's delivery.


At their best, PARADISE LOST are still capable of producing hauntingly dark moments that, despite their less guitar-driven nature, never verge on sounding overly "commercial" or tailor-made for radio, a point that serves in the band's favor against the numerous detractors who have dismissed the group's latest endeavors as an indication that the five-piece have "sold out". On the other hand, PARADISE LOST seem to have compromised their sense of dynamics through their most recent songwriting efforts, with the bulk of the tracks on the last two albums following a similar direction and featuring choruses that can often sound virtually indistinguishable from one another, a factor that is made worse through the group's decreased emphasis on guitar riffs and a general shift toward a more vocal-oriented approach.


Longtime fans of PARADISE LOST that appreciated the more experimental sounds of the group's Host release will find plenty to enjoy on the band's most recent offering. Others, however, would be well advised to spend their money elsewhere.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).