01. Crazy
02. Live To Die Another Day
03. Babylon's Burning
04. Burn
05. Into The Fire
06. Thunder Red
07. Seas Of Fire
08. Godless Run
09. Promised Land

RATING: 7.5/10

It may have been years since W.A.S.P. has generated the kind of controversy (and by design, attention) in the States that had Tipper Gore and the PMRC all riled up in the 80s. But those that have remained loyal to vocalist/guitarist/lyricist Blackie Lawless (the sole original member) over the years, many of whom reside in Europe, have been treated to some quality, if not always consistent, material. Albums like "The Crimson Idol" and 2004's "Dying for the World" are not as well known outside W.A.S.P. fan circles as, say, the self-titled debut or "The Last Command", but many would argue that they are better, more creative albums (certainly "The Crimson Idol"). New album "Babylon" does not fly to quite the same heights as "Dying for the World" (the act's best of the decade in my opinion), but it doesn't pale in comparison either. It is another righteously rockin' collection of W.A.S.P. songs, regardless of the fact that no trails are blazed.

In other words, "Babylon" sticks to a Lawless songwriting formula that relies on catchy, yet never cheesy, choruses and a delivery that is built on strong, lava hot riffing and an overall attack that retains the outlaw mentality that has always been a W.A.S.P. staple. Thematically related to the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, "Babylon" is a finely crafted work that works as a complete album. There are no big time standouts, but rather several strong songs that fit the classic W.A.S.P. mold, such as "Crazy" (you'll immediately think "Wild Child" when the song begins), "Live to Die Another Day", "Babylon's Burning", "Thunder Red", and "Seas of Fire". Indeed, I can't imagine any W.A.S.P. finding fault with any of those cuts; each one is melodically driven and filled with hellfire guitar work, including some scorching solos. "Into the Fire" and "Godless Run" are slow-burning ballad-esque numbers that work surprisingly well and fit nicely with the overall flow of the album; sugar coated they are not.

Finally, as Blackie is prone to do, he has included a couple of covers. Having done justice to songs from the likes of THE WHO, ELTON JOHN, and URIAH HEEP, the trend continues with the band's sizzling rendition of DEEP PURPLE's "Burn", which is anything but out of place here. Closing Chuck Berry number "Promised Land" is given Blackie's Elvis treatment and rocks like a son of a bitch! If you've never cared for W.A.S.P., then "Babylon" will not change your mind. The punters however should be pleased and it may even work as a gateway drug for the uninitiated.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).