01. Cochise
02. Show Me How To Live
03. Gasoline
04. What You Are
05. Like A Stone
06. Set It Off
07. Shadow On The Sun
08. I Am The Highway
09. Exploder
10. Hypnotize
11. Bring Em Back Alive
12. Light My Way
13. Getaway Car
14. The Last Remaining Light

RATING: 7/10

When word first surfaced about the teaming of ex-SOUNDGARDEN singer Chris Cornell with the remnants of RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE — guitarist Tom Morello, bassist Tim Commerford, and drummer Brad Wilk — it seemed that there were two immediate reactions among fans of both bands: either this was the most ill-conceived collaboration ever, or a new supergroup that would save heavy rock from its recent nu-metal doldrums.

Well, AUDIOSLAVE — both band and album — is hardly the disaster that some thought it could be (that horrid name notwithstanding), but the project (which was nearly derailed earlier this year when management difficulties led Cornell to depart for a brief period) is also not quite an instant, rock-revitalizing classic. Instead, it is a solid, sometimes overly familiar, sometimes surprisingly beautiful first effort from a combo that is clearly an uneasy fusion of two of the most distinct hard rock sounds of the Nineties. At worst, AUDIOSLAVE merely sounds like RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE overlaid with SOUNDGARDEN-style melodies and vocals, which is either a good or bad thing depending on your personal taste. But at best, the two individual parts — Cornell's vocals and the RAGE rhythmic juggernaut — meld seamlessly to open up a world of possibilities for this still-formative creation.

"Audioslave" opens with "Cochise", a sludgy stomp that is probably the closest to pure SOUNDGARDEN, as Cornell screams at his grungy best, a new, ragged edge adding texture and maturity to his voice. Ironically, the player who seems to mute his own proclivities the most is Morello, his usually zig-zagging, transmission-from-space lead squealing is restrained in favor of meaty, straightforward riffing.

Other rockers that tread sturdy, if well-worn, ground include "Show Me How To Live", "Set It Off" (which edges closer to RAGE territory, without singer Zack de la Rocha's lyrical manifestos), and "Exploder", but as powerful and groove-laden as these songs are, they sound like the kind of material one would expect from these four musicians, the sort of stuff they could "write in their sleep," to paraphrase Cornell in one recent interview. It is, ironically, on the softer numbers that AUDIOSLAVE finally begin to find themselves. "Like A Stone" is the album's standout track, a poignant, sparse, and somber meditation on death and regret featuring some of Cornell's most emotional vocals ever. "I Am The Highway" and "The Last Remaining Light" offer similar vibes, the latter even sounding like it could have come from Cornell's underrated 1999 solo effort, "Euphoria Morning".

That's not to say that AUDIOSLAVE is incapable of rocking out, or that their salvation lies in mellow, moody, singer-songwriter material. All it means is that these four artists, coming together not as an organic unit but almost as a business proposition, do have the potential to transcend the hype and marketing angles and write some material that is truly their own. Hopefully, if the band does continue with more albums, that potential will manifest itself in heavy, unique material that sounds less like its separate parts and more like a unified whole.

There's no doubt that Cornell, Commerford, Morello, and Wilk are four of the last decade's most talented heavy rock musicians, and that alone makes "Audioslave" an enjoyable, huge-sounding album that's well worth the time for both new listeners and fans of the previous outfits. But it's my suspicion that it will be the next album that will see AUDIOSLAVE shake off the chains of the past and become the supergroup that so many expect them to be.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).