"A Mounting Crisis…"


01. Hatred Burns
02. Rat Race
03. Sown By Greed
04. Don't Walk Away
05. Distrust
06. Eternal Curse
07. Blind From the Facts
08. Resist
09. Blood Lust
10. The Judgment Day

RATING: 6/10

Who knew that the most Germanic of the new wave of retro thrash bands would be from Japan? GRIEF OF WAR at their best are dealing in the kind of skittering, fast-paced, four-on-the-floor thrash that was the province of TANKARD and DEATHROW twenty years ago (though without the former's maniacal edge or the latter's technicality). And while their take on this traditional sound offers little spark of individuality or innovation, there are worse things you could do than spend half an hour with these headbangers.

Things start off in fine style with the excellent, DESTRUCTION-influenced "Hatred Burns" and "Rat Race" — plenty of speed, chunky riffs, and snarling vocals. "Sown By Greed" really nosedives, though, with a boring midtempo beginning that plods into a mushy midsection that goes nowhere. "Don't Walk Away" picks up the pace again quite nicely, though — excellent guitar work on this track, and some of GRIEF OF WAR's best, meanest riffing.

The problem with GRIEF OF WAR is that they're not able to sustain the excitement for more than one song — or, in some cases, one part — "Eternal Curse" has a few decent moments trapped in a morass of dull riffing and pedestrian metal. Even at their best, they're not doing anything that reaches out of the stereo and grabs you by the throat, so when they spend time on filler, it's easy for attention to wander. No one's asking the band to reinvent the wheel, but you have to do better than half-assed DESTRUCTION worship (see "Blind From the Facts") to cut through the glut of new-school thrash bands and make a record worth people's time and money.

GRIEF OF WAR aren't a bad band at all, and with time they could evolve into something truly lethal. But they commit one of the worst sins a thrash band can commit – they get boring. The good moments on "A Mounting Crisis…" are very good, but they're just not enough to recommend this album for anyone but the least discriminating thrashers. Download a few tracks, then spend the next year peering at your iPod screen thinking "is this VENDETTA?" every time they pop up in your shuffle.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).