ZONARIA: New Album Artwork Revealed

Swedish death/black hopefuls ZONARIA will release their second full-length album, "The Cancer Empire", via Century Media Recrods on the following dates:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux, Italy: Friday, October 24
Spain, Portugal: Tuesday, October 28
Sweden, Finland, Hungary: Wednesday, October 29
UK, France, Greece, Denmark, Norway, Rest of Europe: Monday, October 27

The CD was produced by Fredrik Nordström at Studio Fredman and was mastered by Peter In De Betou at Tailor Maid.

"The Cancer Empire" track listing:

01. Slaughter Is Passion
02. Praise The Eradication
03. Crowning King Cancer
04. Contra Mundum
05. Termination Process
06. At War With The Inferior
07. From The Abysmal Womb
08. Damnation Dressed In Flesh
09. Humanity Vs Sanity
10. The Icon And The Faceless

Listen to the track "Praise The Eradication" at the band's MySpace page.

Simon Berglund (vocals/guitar) explains the meaning of the album title: "'The Cancer Empire' refers to a nation that infects the world around it by spreading lies and deceit in order to dominate. For us it has a realistic reflection on the world today."

The cover artwork (see below) by Pär Olofsson (WINDS OF PLAGUE, DEEDS OF FLESH, PSYCROPTIC) was also based upon this concept.

Guitarist Emil Nyström is confident, that the band will gather new hordes of fans with "The Cancer Empire". He states, "There is no one that can take the feeling away from us that we've done another great album. More dynamics and more varied than ever — we can't wait to play the new songs on the road really soon!"

Formed in 2002 by guitarist, main songwriter, and vocalist Simon Berglund along with axeman Emil Nyström (both were only 15 years old at that time), ZONARIA has outgrown its local underground status with the debut album "Infamy And The Breed" (Pivotal Recordings, 2007) and gained Europe-wide attention through tours with IMPALED NAZARENE, MARDUK, PAIN and VADER. With influences ranging from HYPOCRISY to DIMMU BORGIR to ARCH ENEMY, ZONARIA's misanthropic mix of brutal riffs, melodic harmonies, maniacal drumming, and ominous synth lines was well received within the metal community and the band succeeded in shaping its own, unique sound.

ZONARIA's "The Armageddon Anthem" video:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).