WOE To Release New Album In April

Candlelight Records has set ab April 23 North American release date for "Withdrawal", the third album from black metallers WOE. Produced by vocalist/guitarist Chris Grigg and mastered by Colin Marston, the CD features seven new songs with a running time of 43 minutes. It is the first new material by the band since 2010's widely regarded "Quietly, Undramatically". "Withdrawal" reunites the band with artist and longtime friend Justin Miller.

"I spent a ton of time focusing on the production," says Grigg in discussing the album's creation. "We examined what WOE created since its inception in 2007 and broke it down to its core elements. The result is something that is a synthesis of the strongest elements: the unstoppable black metal ferocity of 'A Spell For The Death Of Man' mixed with the bold dynamics and smarter, more direct and personal songwriting of 'Quietly, Undramatically'. It is our most intense, our most cohesive, our most personal."

Recorded at studios in New York and New Jersey during the latter months of 2012, "Withdrawal" is a robust and penetrating album. It benefits from 18 months of live performances; something unavailable to WOE in the early years.

"This is music that was made to be performed live," Grigg notes. "Working with other people keeps WOE fresh. They bring new ideas and perspectives, fill in the gaps of my own abilities, and keep things moving when I slow down. This is the first WOE album to include not just riffs written by others but entire songs. Ruston (Grosse, drums) wrote 'Ceaseless Jaws'. Ben (Brand, guitar) wrote the initial draft of 'Exhausted' and then we reworked it. It's also the first album to include vocals other than mine: Grzesiek (Czapla, bass/vocals) doesn't just do backups; he has entire verses in a number of songs and is more 'second vocalist' than anything else."

Story continues after advertisement

A/V Club calls WOE "one of the best of a strong wave of young American black metal bands willing to play around with the boundaries of the genre." Metal Sucks says, "sincere and relentlessly creative, WOE put a new spin on an old method. The band crafts something that gives you a good sense of the possibilities that still exist in the genre. This is the sound of black metal to come." Popdose adds, "WOE burns the black metal rule book to create something wholly unique and desirable."

Originally launched as a one-man project, WOE released their debut, "A Spell For The Death Of Man", before teaming with England's Candlelight Records in 2009. Their label debut, "Quietly, Undramatically", was released late October 2010 and immediately found praise. Decibel called the album "an intriguing, revolutionary blend of black metal and shoegaze-tinged post-rock sophistication." Terrorizer found it to be, "a raging slab of barely contained aggression, immeasurable parthos, and damn fine songwriting." Shortly after release, WOE was invited to perform at the March 2011 Scion Rock Fest in Pomona, California. The band would follow that up with a number of regional dates before heading out with MAYHEM for their American tour later that year.

"Withdrawal" track listing:

01. This Is The End Of The Story
02. Carried By Waves To Remorseless Shores Of The Truth
03. All Bridges Burned
04. Ceaseless Jaws
05. Song Of My Undoing
06. Exhausted
07. Withdrawal


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).