WHITESNAKE's CLASSIC ROCK Magazine 'Fan Pack' Detailed

U.K.'s Classic Rock magazine has announced the launch of its latest "Fan Pack," dedicated to David Coverdale and WHITESNAKE.

The WHITESNAKE Fan Pack follows hard on the heels of Classic Rock's acclaimed Slash and MOTÖRHEAD packs. It includes a 132-page magazine along with "Forevermore", WHITESNAKE's brand spanking new studio album. There's also an official WHITESNAKE pin badge and a giant-size poster.

Fans who buy the WHITESNAKE Fan Pack will be able to hear "Forevermore" three weeks before it goes on sale in the record stores. What's more, the Fan Pack version of "Forevermore" comes with two bonus live tracks — "Slide it In" and "Cheap An' Nasty" — recorded live at WHITESNAKE's headline set at the Castle Donington Monsters Of Rock festival in 1990. So that's 13 brand new studio tracks plus two bonus ones — a lot of WHITESNAKE music to sink your fangs into!

The bonus live tracks will not be on the record-store version of "Forevermore". In addition, the CD cover for the Fan Pack WHITESNAKE album will feature exclusive artwork that will not be used on the record store equivalent.

The bonus live tracks will serve as an appetizer for WHITESNAKE's forthcoming "Live @ Donington 1990" DVD and double CD, to be released in summer 2011.

The Fan Pack magazine — which is being edited by Geoff Barton — contains a major, all-new interview with WHITESNAKE mainman David Coverdale, conducted at his home in Lake Tahoe, Nevada.

"Forevermore" was recorded at Coverdale's home studio and Classic Rock was there while it was being made. Coverdale also talks the magazine through the new album, track by track. Additionally, Classic Rock has new interviews with the other WHITESNAKE band members: guitarists Doug Aldrich and Reb Beach, bassist Michael Devin and drummer Brian Tichy.

There's a wealth of exclusive, never-before-seen pictures of Coverdale and his band, taken by top U.S. photographer Travis Shinn while "Forevermore" was being made in Tahoe.

Elsewhere in the Fan Pack magazine, Classic Rock talks to the musicians who knew Coverdale when he started out as a club singer in Northeast England. The magazine analyzes the multi-platinum success of the band's legendary "1987" album and also reviews WHITESNAKE's entire back catalogue of albums. All this — and Classic Rock lists Coverdale's Top 20 Friskiest Lyrics.

Commented David Coverdale: "After such a rewarding love affair with Classic Rock and its readers these last few years, we are honored beyond words to be given our very own very special 'SNAKE edition.

"We hope you all enjoy the action-packed, high-octane hissstory [sic] and especially our new 'Forevermore' album, and are inspired to come out and play with us this summer on the U.K. tour.

"We remain your obedient serpents…"

Classic Rock's WHITESNAKE Fan Pack goes on sale on March 25. It can pre-ordered at www.myfavouritemagazines.co.uk.

"Forevermore" will be released on March 29 in North America (March 25 in Europe ) via Frontiers Records. The band's eleventh studio album was recorded, produced and mixed by Coverdale, guitarist Doug Aldrich and Michael McIntyre at Snakebyte Studios and Grumblenott Studios & Villas in Lake Tahoe, Nevada, with additional work at Casa Dala, Sherman Oaks, California.

The album's release will be anticipated by the digital-only release of the first single/videoclip, "Love Will Set You Free", on February 21.

"Love Will Set You Free" audio stream:

"Forevermore" track listing:

01. Steal Your Heart Away
02. All Out Of Luck
03. Love Will Set You Free
04. Easier Said Than Done
05. Tell Me How
06. I Need You (Shine A Light)
07. One Of These Days
08. Love And Treat Me Right
09. Dogs In The Street
10. Fare Thee Well
11. Whipping Boy Blues
12. My Evil Ways
13. Forevermore

(Thanks: angerinc.)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).