VICIOUS ART, the Swedish death/thrash metal band featuring former DARK FUNERAL members Matias Mäkelä and Robert Lundin, along with Jörgen Sandström (THE PROJECT HATE, ex-ENTOMBED, GRAVE) on bass, has inked a deal with Mighty Music.

Commented the label in a press release: "When Mighty Music heard VICIOUS ART parted ways with Threeman Recordings, a quick approach was made. The band had just recorded three new songs and to say the least, those songs blew us away, so we jumped on the first flight to Stockholm to nail down the details fast! The result is a two-album record deal — and on top of that a 7" EP (vinyl, yes) will be released with the three new killer songs that made Mighty Music sign the band. The EP 'Weed the Wild' will be released on Mighty Music's vinyl division Prutten Records in April."

The band said: "We have been waiting for the right opportunity to start working with a record label that would support VICIOUS ART and the recording of our next full length album. Now such an opportunity has arisen. With great satisfaction, we hereby announce that we have signed a record deal with Denmark's Mighty Music. We feel very comfortable with the people behind this record label, and we really look forward to our collaboration. The majority of the songs for the next album are already written. We will, once again, use the Off Beat Studio in Stockholm. The recording is scheduled for May. Meanwhile we are busy writing more songs, and we keep ourselves in a creative mood. As usual, we can't wait to perform the new songs live. Our fans know us to be a great and reliable live act, with a natural force, unequalled by few. This really feels like a rebirth for VICIOUS ART, and true to our style, we maintain as hard, heavy and raw as ever before. Just the way extreme metal is supposed to be played."

VICIOUS ART's new full-length album will be released in the fall.


Jocke Widfeldt (DOMINION CALIGULA) - Vocals
Matti Mäkelä (DARK FUNERAL) - Guitar
Tobbe Sillman (GUIDANCE OF SIN) - Guitar
Jörgen Sandström (ENTOMBED, GRAVE, KRUX, THE PROJECT HATE) - Bass and Vocals
Robert Lundin (DARK FUNERAL) - Drums

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).