URIAH HEEP: New Album Details Revealed

Universal Music has announced the release of a new studio album from British rock legends URIAH HEEP in June 2008.

"Wake The Sleeper" will be URIAH HEEP's first studio album in almost ten years (the first since 1998's "Sonic Origami") and is set to herald an exciting new phase for the band. The album sees URIAH HEEP back to their very best and is set to become a future classic — sure to please their dedicated worldwide fan base and fans of progressive rock in general. Recorded in 2007 the album was produced by Mike Paxman (STATUS QUO, JUDIE TZUKE). In the words of Mick Box, "We are delighted to be reunited with a major label in Universal music. 'Wake The Sleeper' is an album we are incredibly proud of, and one that we hope the fans will see as one of URIAH HEEP's best. We can't wait to get back out on the road to showcase the new songs."

The live arena has been vital to the longevity of URIAH HEEP. So in addition to album sales of over 30 million worldwide the band have toured in 52 countries and established themselves as consummate live performers. The band has a series of impressive firsts including being the first British rock band to play Russia in December 1987.

This is the band's first album without their long-standing and original drummer Lee Kerslake who sadly had to leave the band due to ill health in January 2007. Filling the drum stool for the very first time is the hugely well-respected Russell Gilbrook (Tony Iommi, Van Morrison, John Farnham and Lonnie Donnegan).

Story continues after advertisement

Current band lineup is:

Mick Box - Guitar, Vocals
Trevor Bolder - Bass, Vocals
Phil Lanzon - Keyboards, Vocals
Bernie Shaw - Lead Vocals
Russell Gilbrook - Drums, Vocals

"Wake The Sleeper" track listing:

01. Wake The Sleeper
02. Overload
03. Tears Of the World
04. Light Of A Thousand Stars
05. Heavens Rain
06. Book Of Lies
07. What Kind Of God
08. Ghost Of The Ocean
09. Angels Walk With You
10. Shadow
11. War Child

URIAH HEEP's progressive heavy metal made the British band one of the most popular hard rock groups of the early '70s. Formed by guitarist Mick Box and vocalist David Byron in the late '60s, URIAH HEEP released their debut album "Very 'eavy... Very 'umble" in 1970. Since then the band have released 20 studio albums and played to millions of fans across the globe. URIAH HEEP remain one of British rock's most consistent and long-standing acts, with album sales of over 30 million worldwide. "Wake The Sleeper" will be URIAH HEEP's 21st studio album.

"Wake The Sleeper" will also be released on vinyl as a 12" limited edition in a stunning gatefold sleeve.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).