U.K. Rock Legends SWEET Revisit 'Desolation Boulevard' With New Live CD

Hot on the heels of their recent critically acclaimed album release "New York Connection", U.K. rock legends SWEET have released a new live CD only available by digital download.

Performing the band's most famous and influential album from 1974, "Desolation Boulevard", live, SWEET's "Desolation Boulevard Revisited" recaptures the album in concert with all of the raw energy that can only come from a live performance.

Originally titled "Sweet Fanny Adams" in the U.K., the 1974 U.S. release of the album, re-titled "Desolation Boulevard", was a turning point for the band featuring, for the first time, more of a hard rock sound. The album yielded classic hits such as "Ballroom Blitz", "Fox On The Run" and "The Six Teens", catapulting the band to international stardom.

Says original member Andy Scott: "SWEET's 'Desolation Boulevard' album was groundbreaking back in 1974 and proved to be a major influence on soon to be famous rock bands such as KISS, MÖTLEY CRÜE, DEF LEPPARD and many more. The album was a tightly produced collection of power-pop, heavy-rock, radio-friendly tunes that still sound great today. This was the album that accelerated SWEET into a major headlining touring band in the '70s, a testament of anyone who saw the band 'live.' Several of the songs from the album have been covered by other artists which pays true homage to a great band. Now in 2013, we have 'Desolation Boulevard Revisited'. A 'live' album release, almost 40 years on from the original but sounding as fresh as the day the songs were conceived. This is a 'must' for SWEET fans everywhere!"

Story continues after advertisement

With worldwide album sales of more than 55 million copies, SWEET have notched 34 No. 1 smashes across the globe as part of a run of timeless hits that includes "Blockbuster!", "Hell Raiser", "The Ballroom Blitz", "The Six Teens", "Action", "Fox On The Run" and "Love Is Like Oxygen". Seen on "Top Of The Pops" on what felt like a weekly basis throughout the 1970s, their über-harmonious, multi-tracked guitar work and layered production was to provide inspiration to other acts such as QUEEN, the ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA and, in later decades, DEF LEPPARD, MÖTLEY CRÜE and THE DARKNESS.

"Desolation Boulevard Revisited" track listing:

01. Sweet F.A.
02. Heartbreak Today
03. The Six Teens
04. Restless
05. No You Don't
06. Into The Night
07. AC-DC
08. Fox On The Run
09. Set Me Free
10. Ballroom Blitz

Check out audio samples at Amazon.com.


Andy Scott - Guitar, Vocals
Pete Lincoln - Lead Vocals, Bass
Bruce Bisland - Drums, Vocals
Tony O'Hora - Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).