TONY MACALPINE To Release New Self-Titled Solo Album Next Month

Legendary guitar and piano/keyboard virtuoso Tony MacAlpine's new self- titled album, to be released June 21 on Favored Nations, marks a highly-anticipated return to solo work after a prolific decade of output with his bands, including prog-metal-fusion trio PLANET X; Grammy-nominated jazz fusion outfit CAB; power metallers RING OF FIRE; as well as performing keyboard and guitar duties in Steve Vai's double platinum DVD-selling live band "The Breed" from 2001-2006.

"When I set out to write a new album, I quickly realized that my urge to once again create and define myself as a solo artist had returned with a vengeance," said MacAlpine. "This is my strongest album to date. I can't wait to hit the road and play it live."

Recorded in his home studio in Pasadena, California, "Tony MacAlpine" is the musician's 11th solo album. Featuring 12 tracks of guitar-laden progressive instrumental metal MacAlpine performing seven- and eight-string guitar, keyboards, bass and programming, along with drum legends Virgil Donati (PLANET X, VIRGIL DONATI BAND) on tracks 1, 5, and 10; and Marco Minnemann (ADRIAN BELEW, NECROPHAGIST) on tracks 3, 4, 8 and 12. Bassist Philip Bynoe (STEVE VAI, RING OF FIRE) also appears on track 2. The album was mixed by Ulrich Wild (DEFTONES, STATIC-X, DETHKLOK) and mastered by former chief mastering engineer of A&M Studios, Dave Collins.

One of the guitarists at the forefront of the virtuoso guitar movement of the mid-80s, 2011 marks Tony's 25th anniversary of groundbreaking guitar work (his seminal 1986 debut album "Edge Of Insanity" was recently ranked #4 in Guitar World magazine's "Top 10 Shred Albums Of All Time), in a career spanning 11 solo albums, 13 band albums, and countless guest appearances, in genres diverse as metal, progressive fusion, neoclassical, jazz and classical piano.

Story continues after advertisement

The album's opening tracks "Serpens Cauda" and "ldeniz" are available now for FREE download in high quality MP3 at Tony's web site.

Tony plans to tour the album in the USA, Europe and South America later this year and 2012.

"Tony MacAlpine" track listing:

01. Serpens Cauda (4:23)
02. ldeniz (5:16)
03. Fire Mountain (4:23)
04. Dream Mechanism (4:18)
05. Ten Seconds to Mercury (4:35)
06. Flowers For Monday (3:05)
07. Angel of Twilight (5:03)
08. Pyrokinesis (3:56)
09. Blue Maserati (4:41)
10. Summer Palace (4:36)
11. Salar de Uyuni (5:40)
12. The Dedication (4:22)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).