TOMAHAWK: More 'Anonymous' Details Revealed

TOMAHAWK, the "all-star" band featuring former FAITH NO MORE vocalist Mike Patton, ex-HELMET drummer Jon Stainer and former JESUS LIZARD guitarist Duane Denison, has revealed the track listing for its new album, "Anonymous", due on June 19 via Ipecac. It is as follows:

01. War Song
02. Mescal Rite I
03. Ghost Dance
04. Red Fox
05. Cradle Song
06. Antelope Ceremony
07. Song of Victory
08. Omaha Dance
09. Sun Dance
10. Mescal Rite 2
11. Totem
12. Crow Dance
13. Long, Long Weary Day

TOMAHAWK's third release, "Anonymous", links the outfit with the Native American culture that bore its name. A thirteen-track album that reverentially explores and reinterprets the darker, more recessed ancestral music created by North America's indigenous people, the title reflects the countless individuals who contributed to these songs but went un-credited throughout history.

At the turn of the millennium, Duane Denison toured with HANK WILLIAMS III, frequently finding himself on Indian reservations. "I was somewhat disappointed by the Native bands," Duane explains. "They were usually very conventional, kind of blues and country type stuff, or too much like 'new age' music. I figured there must be native music somewhere that was more aggressive, spookier, and more kinetic." Duane began to research the culture's music; about a year into his research he found books that were written around the time of Teddy Roosevelt's presidency, a period in U.S. history when Indian culture and artifacts were in vogue. The books, dated to the early 20th century, recorded transcriptions of the songs contained herein. The titles "Totem", "Mescal Rite 1", "Song of Victory" are all true to the names uncovered by the people who originally transcribed them, although Duane says "Red Fox" was altered to be more accessible. One song, "Long, Long Weary Day", is a non-Native American "parlor song" song of the same time period, and also uncredited.

Story continues after advertisement

Now a three-piece, TOMAHAWK recorded "Anonymous" in two-parts. Duane Denison and John Stanier recorded guitars and drums (respectively) in Nashville while Mike Patton added vocals and samples at Vulcan Studios in San Francisco.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).