THE MAN-EATING TREE Completes Work On Sophomore Album

THE MAN-EATING TREE the atmospheric metal band featuring former SENTENCED drummer Vesa Ranta alongside current/former members of POISONBLACK, REFLEXION and EMBRAZE has completed work on its sophomore album, "Harvest", to be released in the coming months via Century Media Records. The CD was once again helmed by producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS) and marks the recording debut of guitarist Antti Karhu.

Commented vocalist Tuomas Tuominen: "Some of you already got the chance to meet [Antti] briefly on our late summer shows. The fine young man was welcomed to our lineup during the spring to play some mean guitar. He brings a style of playing that ranges through the far reaches of our music with ease. Soulful in one moment, packing all the needed punch in the next.

"The new recording and the strengthened lineup are not the only things that have come to a completion during the past few months.

"The album will be released worldwide through Century Media Records, with whom we inked a record deal in the summer.

"Good to work with the Century Media people; the warmth and dedication in their work matches that of ours."

THE MAN-EATING TREE's debut album, "Vine", was released in Finland on September 22, 2010 via Cobra Records and in other territories through Century Media Records. The CD was recorded at Mastervox Studio in Oulu, Finland with producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS).

According to the group's official bio, THE MAN-EATING TREE was formed when "Vesa Ranta, having taken a break from music after SENTENCED, began to overcome his post-SENTENCED battle fatigue and lack of musical motivation. The idea of a new band or bands was eventually brainstormed over a period of time between Vesa and his friends, including gentlemen Miika Tenkula, Aaron Rantonen, Janne Markus and Mikko Uusimaa. Plans were made reality in 2009; the outfit was completed by the addition of Tuomas Tuominen as a vocalist and Heidi Mtt as a keyboard player. First demo recordings were made in the spring and summer of 2009.


Tuomas Tuominen (ex-FALL OF THE LEAFE) - Vocals
Janne Markus (POISONBLACK) Guitar
Antti Karhu - Guitar
Mikko Uusimaa (REFLEXION) - Bass
Heidi Mtt (ex-EMBRAZE) - Keyboards
Vesa Ranta (ex-SENTENCED) - Drums

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).