THE ETERNAL: 'Pre-Production For New Album Is Almost Complete'

Acclaimed Australian atmospheric/gothic/doom metal band THE ETERNAL has issued the following update:

"After an enjoyable and successful European tour we are back home! After the European tour, singer/guitarist Mark Kelson went on to do six weeks touring in the USA as a session guitarist for VIRGIN BLACK, so the rest of THE ETERNAL had a well earned break.

"We would like to thank all those that made our time in Europe very enjoyable, Musketeer of Death, Negative Art and Nemesis Promotions most of all for making all the shows happen, and of course all our fans that made it to the shows! With any luck you will see us again next year with a new album under our belts! To celebrate our return we will be doing a hometown show on August 17 at The Arthouse in Melbourne with TEARGAS, THRESHOLDS OF VENGEANCE and IMMERSION. We will not be doing to many shows for the rest of the year, so that we may focus on recording our new album. So please come down and spend an evening with us!

"Well, pre-production for the new album, with the working title 'Kartika' is almost complete. 16 songs are written and at this stage it looks if the band will be using Adelaide engineer Ian Miller alongside Mark Kelson to handle production duties. The band aim to head to Adelaide by November to lay down drums and should be tracking the rest of the album in Melbourne, Australia. At this stage we have not decided what label we will work with for 'Kartika'."

THE ETERNAL recently uploaded a new demo track to its MySpace page. "Without Reason" was engineered late last year by Endel Rivers and Mark Kelson and was mixed by Endel. "Every one of the 16 tracks we have written [for the upcoming album, tentatively titled 'Kartika'] [is] quite different from each other, so what you will be hearing is just a small taste of what is to come!" the band previously said. Other songs set to appear on the CD include "Silence", "Brighter Day", "Blood", "I've Seen The Dream Through Someone Else's Eyes", "Sunshine" and "Inside The Grey".

THE ETERNAL released its sophomore album, "Sleep of Reason", in 2005 through Firebox Records to critical acclaim, with stunning artwork provided by renowned artist Travis Smith.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).