Louisiana-based progressive metallers TETRAFUSION have inked a worldwide deal with Nightmare Records. The band's sophomore effort, "Altered State", will be released on October 26. The CD was recorded and produced by David Forshee of Queensix Productions. This will be the band's first time to feature vocals, which are handled by keyboardist Gary Tubbs.

Commented bassist Mark Michell: "We are absolutely stoked to be a part of the Nightmare Records family, and are beyond excited for what the future holds in our partnership. We've been searching for the right label for over two years, and feel that Nightmare's forward-thinking approach to the metal scene and to the rapidly changing music industry as we know it today will be the perfect fit for our career as an upcoming artist."

Added Nightmare Records CEO Lance King: I'm very excited about this release, the band are young musical prodigies that think outside the normal echoing styles of this genre, their music is wonderful and expressive.

TETRAFUSION's blend of complex, technical metal blended with a highly-intellectual melodic structure offers an eclectic brand of progressive rock and metal along the likes of PORCUPINE TREE, RUSH, DREAM THEATER, CYNIC, TOOL and MUSE. Originally an instrumental band, the group released its debut record, "Absolute Zero", to critical acclaim, which quickly launched TETRAFUSION into the underground metal scene, sans vocals, along the likes of SCALE THE SUMMIT, ANIMALS AS LEADERS, LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT, and CANVAS SOLARIS, and was hailed as one of the top ten albums of 2009 by Ultimate-Guitar.com.

In a recent interview with Examiner.com, Michell stated about the new release, "We really took a new direction musically. It's our first record to feature vocals, and we didn't want to have 'Absolute Zero Part 2' with vocals over it, so we decided to just completely change our approach. I think 'Altered State''s biggest slogan is 'substance over style' whereas our debut was very style-oriented and straightforward. We definitely have our progressive, crazy, fast, heavy moments, but we took a step back and gave it a lot more atmosphere, which is something I think we needed on many levels."

"Altered State" track listing:

01. Collage of the Present
02. Monologue
03. Last Chance
04. The Deserter
05. Altered State (instrumental)
06. Shadows
07. Tears of the Past


Gary Tubbs - Vocals, Keyboards,
Brooks Tarkington - Vocals, Guitars
Mark Michell - Bass
J.C. Bryant - Drums

For more information, visit www.myspace.com/tetrafusion.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.