Ted Nugent and Kid Rock are among the presenters at this year's CMT Music Awards, which will be held June 16 at Nashville's Sommet Center and will be telecast live on CMT and CMT.com at 8 p.m. ET/PT. Hosted by actor-comedian Bill Engvall, the event will also include performances by TRACE ADKINS, JASON ALDEAN, DIERKS BENTLEY, TOBY KEITH, BRAD PAISLEY, RASCAL FLATTS, SUGARLAND, TAYLOR SWIFT, KEITH URBAN and DEF LEPPARD.

Fans can vote online at CMT.com through June 14 to determine the award winners. The final nominees for video of the year will be announced at the beginning of the live show, and fans in the eastern and central time zones will be able to vote at CMT.com and via text on their Verizon Wireless phones throughout the live broadcast to determine the night's big winner.

DEF LEPPARD received two nominations for the 2009 CMT Music Awards.

"These are two of the most unexpected nominations we've ever received...but we're very happy to get them," said DEF LEPPARD lead singer Joe Elliott. "Being nominated for the first time, as it were, in this genre is truly amazing. As for Taylor, it was an absolute blast playing with her and her band. It was one of the highlights of last year."

DEF LEPPARD received their nominations for their performance of "Photograph" with Taylor Swift from"CMT Crossroads: Def Leppard and Taylor Swift", one for "CMT Performance Of The Year" and the other for "Wide Open Country Video Of The Year".

"This is a huge surprise to us," said the band's lead guitarist Phil Collen. "To be nominated for a CMT Music Award, no less two, and to have the chance to work with one of the very best that country music has in Taylor reminds us of how grateful we are to be able to do what we love the most — make music."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).