TARJA TURUNEN Kicks Off 'Summer Storm' Tour; Video Available

Former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen kicked off her "Summer Storm" tour last night (Saturday, June 20) in Budapest, Hungary.

Her setlist was as follows:

01. Enough
02. My Little Phoenix
03. She Is My Sin
04. Damned & Divine
05. Minor Heaven
06. I Walk Alone
07. Ciaran's Well
08. Sleeping Sun
09. Lost Northern Star
10. Poison
11. Wisdom / Boy / Divide / Calling
12. If You Believe
13. Nemo
14. Sing For Me
15. Oasis
16. Kinslayer
17. Die Alive

Fan-filmed video footage of the performance can be viewed below.

Tarja Turunen's band for her Summer Storm 2009 Tour consists of the following musicians:

* Tarja Turunen - Vocals
* Maria Ilmoniemi - Keyboards
* Kiko Loureiro (ANGRA) - Guitar
* Max Lilja (HEVEIN, ex-APOCALYPTICA) - Cello

According to a posting on Tarja's web site, "all the shows on Summer Storm 2009 Tour were declared 'camera-friendly,' which means that you are welcome to bring your photo camera and take as many pictures as you wish. This is with the exception of gigs in festivals, where you will have to ask to the organization of the festival about their camera policy for we can not exceed the regulations established by them."

For a list of upcoming shows, go to this location.

Tarja Turunen has set "What Lies Beneath" as the working title of her new solo CD, tentatively due before the end of the year. She says, "With [2007's] 'My Winter Storm', I chose the name of the album in the early stages and that helped me to create the concept for the album. With the new album, I decided to do it the same way, so I searched for an inspiring title and all the songs are one way or another related to it."

Regarding the songwriting process for the new CD, Turunen said, "In the last months I've been writing a lot of music for my new album. Songwriting is always an amazing learning experience, and it has been a pleasure to discuss music with different people.

"The album process is still going on and I have more songs that are in the working. It is sounding very promising. The songs are absolutely more mature, wild, and emotional and they sound more me, if I can say so.

"The biggest difference in preparing this new album is that I will be taking the time that I need until the songs are in a shape that I am happy with. No matter how long it takes. I want it to be perfect for me. No hurry; no pressure."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.