TÝR: Icelandic TV Performance Available

Iceland's Thorsteinn Kolbeinsson has submitted the following item to BLABBERMOUTH.NET:

"Last October I promoted a few shows with [Faroese Viking metallers] TÝR here in Iceland and as a part of their visit to Iceland they were offered to perform on the state TV station RUV. The show in question is the news magazine show 'Kastljos'. Their performance was taped and due to be shown the following day, but just around that time the Icelandic banking system collapsed and this show, that normally shows a music performance every night understandably had no room for such when the news broke about the Icelandic economy going down the drain.

"I just got a call from the station and they told me they are going to show this finally tonight [Tuesday, May 5]. The performance will probably take place at around 20:00 GMT (22:00 CET)."

The program is now available for streaming at this location (Note: TÝR's performance starts about 29 minutes into the show). The stream will be available for two weeks only.

TÝR recently posted another new song, "Northern Gate", on the band's MySpace page. The track comes off the group's new album, "By the Light of the Northern Star", which is scheduled for release on May 29 in Europe via Napalm Records. A stream of the song "Hold the Heathen Hammer High", along with the CD artwork, is available below.

"By the Light of the Northern Star" was recorded in early 2009 on the band's native soil. Jacob Hansen mixed the new material and finishing touches were provided by the mastering experts at Finnvox.

On "By the Light of the Northern Star" the Faroese band delivers catchy yet technically brilliant tracks, and once again demonstrates how to impressively unite the contemporary present with the mythological past. Traditional homeland melodies, Viking choruses, and classic heavy metal songs, such as "Hold the Heathen Hammer High" or even the title track, offer fans new and powerful hymns. Responsible for the brilliance of this "Northern Star" is once again frontman and mastermind Heri Joensen, who provides an undisputed goosebump factor with his clean and majestic vocals.

"By the Light of the Northern Star" will be available as regular jewel case and a limited-edition deluxe digipack including two bonus tracks.

"By the Light of the Northern Star" track listing:

01. Hold the Heathen Hammer High
02. Tróndur í Gøtu
03. Into the Storm
04. Northern Gate
05. Turið Torkilsdóttir
06. By the Sword in My Hand
07. Ride
08. Hear the Heathen Call
09. By the Light of the Northern Star

TÝR is:

Heri Joensen - Vocals, Guitar
Terji Skibenæs - Guitar
Gunnar H. Thomsen - Bass
Kári Streymoy - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.