SWALLOW THE SUN To Release 'When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light' Album In January

SWALLOW THE SUN To Release 'When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light' Album In January

Finnish melancholy death-doom metal masters SWALLOW THE SUN will release their new album, "When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light", on January 25, 2019 through Century Media Records. Only one month earlier, on December 21, they will release a standalone 14-minute epic single track called "Lumina Aurea", both digitally and as a 12-inch EP vinyl version.

Fueled by personal loss (the album title has its origins in TREES OF ETERNITY's "Broken Mirror") and powered by the will to continue, "When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light" showcases the group's ability to maintain its signature sound while expanding upon horizons and diving deeper into the crevasse of doom-death metal. Even though the single and the album are conceptually connected, they are musically completely different. While "Lumina Aurea" — featuring WARDRUNA's Einar Selvik and THE FORESHADOWING's Marco I. Benevento — marks the band's darkest and most sinister piece of music the band has ever released, "When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light" follows a more positive approach and continues in the vein of previous albums — first-rate death-doom in the typical style of SWALLOW THE SUN.

"When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light" track listing:

01. When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light
02. The Crimson Crown
03. Firelights
04. Upon The Water
05. Stone Wings
06. Clouds On Your Side
07. Here On The Black Earth
08. Never Left

"Lumina Aurea" track listing:

01. Lumina Aurea
02. Lumina Aurea (instrumental version)


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).